Twilight In Jersey

I’m an avid reader of the Photography Bay website. There’s always a lot of great information and cool content there. (check out the reviews of the new Canon G11. – it was just 12 months ago I was lusting after the G9!)

Anyway, the other day, the newsletter hit my in-box. My email has been backing up lately. Think my one account has about 115 unread messages, 90% of which are different newsletters or blog feeds. But I took the time to open this one and I’m glad I did.

In it, the editors of Photography Bay were reminding readers that there was just a little over 24 hours to submit photos for the Sony Twilight Football Photography Contest. Basically, 7 football (ahem, soccer) matches will take place at twilight in seven incredible locations around the world: Venice; Mer de Glace, France; Enchanted City, Spain; UK Tingatel; Argentina, Iguassu Falls; Australia, Pinnacle Desert; and South Africa, Soccer City. More info about each location here.

To enter, you had submit your three best “twilight” themed photos to the Photography Bay Flickr Group. 20 finalests would be selected and Sony will choose one of these images as the winner from Photography Bay’s portion of the contest. The photographer and a guest will travel to 1 of 7 locations to shoot with Sony’s new gear at a Twilight football match.

Pretty cool, huh? Pretty scary too, at least from my eyes. Anytime you put your work forth to be judged, it’s scary. And why not? While it’s not like a photo editor telling you you missed the shot and you suck, still…someone is putting a critical eye on your work and will tell you what they think, one way or another. While I love Flickr, sometimes it’s too much of a lovefest. My contacts comments on my images that they like, but they don’t really offer up any ways to get better. (sorry, contacts, if you’re reading this. I’m prepared for the onslaught of criticism now.) And I only rarely negative comment on others work. Maybe it might just be a crop suggestion, but nothing more than that.

Anyway, I decided to pick three and submit them for the contest:

1. The Santa Monica (CA) Pier, at sunset.
santamonicapier
I shot this last summer after a cool day of shooting with Craig Cameron Olson. As we were heading back to his house (on bikes, no less) he turned around and saw how the sky was lighting up. “I think you need to take some shot of this,” he said. So I did. Loved his patience there.

2. July 3rd at Citizens’ Bank Park in Philadelphia. Walking around the stadium, I looked across the field and caught this.
TheBanksilouette

3. About 3/4 of a mile from my house, in my neighborhood. Just before 7 a.m. on a cold-ass January 8th morning.
Rville morning

I actually thought the CBP one was the strongest, though I do like all three images.

I really thought I’d just be throwing water in the river. Nothing ventured, nothing lost type of thing.

Until I went to the Photography Bay website just before starting this post. And I was jarred in my seat.

As I scrolled down, I saw that Image #3 was selected as a Top 20 finalist.

Wow. Needless to say, I’m pretty excited. Out of approximately 165 entries, one of mine made the Top 20. I’m very pleased with that. Of course, the competition is mighty fierce. But to have even made the cut…that’s a fun way to lead into my weekend.

Share

© Mark V. Krajnak 2009 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 20D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS2 and Nik Software

6 thoughts on “Twilight In Jersey

  1. Hey Mark,

    I actually had a tough time choosing between the three photos. I considered each of them as a finalist at one point; however, going back to the twilight theme of the whole contest, I thought the third image really spoke to that theme.

    There were a lot of horizon and sunset-type photos that didn’t make the cut, so you should be proud. And, choosing between the three of yours was tough. I’ll have to say that it was pretty close to a coin flip between image #2 and #3 though.

    It’s all in Sony’s judges’ hands now. So good luck!

    Eric
    Photography Bay

  2. Congratulations Mark, and well-deserved. I wish you the best of luck in winning, as a Sony user, I wish I had known about this contest! I would love to get access to some new gear to try out.

    Beautiful shots.

  3. First off, congratulations! All three images were wonderful. #1 was my personal favorite but I agree with Eric, #3 fits the theme of the contest the best.

    Second, I wanted to let you know how I found out about you. I found you through a post on Twitter from Jeff Lynch linking to this post. Here is a copy of Jeff’s tweet:

    “New post and images by my non-tweeting friend Mark Krajnak. http://bit.ly/SCqYC

    Non-tweeting friend? I didn’t know that there was such a thing anymore! :-) Just kidding.

    In all seriousness, if you haven’t tried Twitter yet, you should give it a shot. There is a treasure-trove of information AND inspiration there if you follow the people that YOU want to follow. In other words, if you are picky about the people that you follow, Twitter is great. If you follow just anyone and everyone, it will suck the life out of you trying to keep up. Personally, I’ve found a lot of great photographers, such as yourself, through Twitter that I would have never known about otherwise.

    Just my $0.02 and again, Congratulations on being in the top 20!

    Dwayne

  4. Pingback: Twilight Turns Dark In Jersey « Mark Krajnak’s JerseyStyle Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 329 other followers

