I Framed Joe McNally!

Share

Photog: I got framed, I tell ya! I didn’t do nuttin’!

Arresting officer: Yeah, yeah, save it for the judge. None of you dem guys ever do nuttin’!

Photog: I swear, I didn’t do nuttin’! I wasn’t even there! I gots framed! Framed I tell ya!

Yep, Joe McNally got framed. And I framed him. What can I say.

Just recently, I lucked my way into a new office space at my job. Four walls. A door. No windows. Almost the big time! Whoo Hoo!

While I do want to make a good attempt at printing and displaying some of my own work in my not-quite-corner office , I did also want to exhibit this one…from the incomparable Joe McNally.

I’ve known Joe over 10 years now. We first hit the tarmac together back in January 2000, and developed a great friendship through the years. My company hired him a few times for corporate work, and after traveling with him for a while, it’s not a far stretch to see how I got interested in photography. Back then, though, it was more basic. We’d finish a shoot, and retired to some crappy chain restaurant for dinner (though I remember us going to an amazingly nice French place in Kalamazoo, MI…go figure).

Anyway, we’d get to talking and I’d hear of his exploits and jobs. Sounded like fun. Wished I could make photos like that. But the plastic point-and-shoot I carried with me greatly underperformed that task.

Joe was always working, getting things done. Probably during one of those trips, he was also squaring things away for this National Geographic story. I do remember him telling me he was working on a Geo piece about flight, and I knew he was playing around with digital cameras then (though on our jobs we were still shooting film.)

Fast-forward a few months later and I see that the story on Flight does come out. And Joe rocked it digitally.

Trail blazing once again.

Then when I attended his lighting seminar in Dobbs Ferry last summer, he was giving out posters to those that attended. I got three or four but had my eye on this one to get framed and hung in my office.

It looks great in person. Even people that have no clue who shot it, or have an interest in military aircraft say what a great looking photo it is.

I just wish I had had Joe sign it at the seminar!

In the photo is John, from Rabbet Gallery in New Brunswick. What a nice guy. Gave me a great price on framing this bigger piece, and was just wonderful to work with. I’m more than happy to give him local business. They do really nice work.

A quick Google search turned up a few links related to this image that are fun reads:

* Shooting the D1X for National Geographic
* The National Geographic story: Wings of Change
* More on the image.
* Joe’s Field Notes.

Yeah, I framed Joe McNally……

What of it?

© Mark V. Krajnak 2009 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 50D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS2 or PSE6 and Nik Software.

2 thoughts on “I Framed Joe McNally!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I Framed Joe McNally! « JerseyStyle Photography Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. yeah, what of it? i got framed. alright, alright, I did the job. but hey, somebody was gonna do it, so it might as well have been me, ya know? plane’s out there, i’m out there….got some flashes. ya know, nobody got hurt. wasn’t like that deal k-man pulled down by da docks. oh yeah, ya wanna know bout dat? well, howzabout we cut a deal, huh, officer?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 344 other followers

