Dispatches: The End Of Summer

[All these images look better viewed large. Click them to do so.]

Obituary:
After a very brief, hot life – which caused many people to say things like “It’s not the heat, it’s the humidity,” “My god, it’s hot today” and “Is my grass going to come back?” – Summer 2010 officially succumbed to a season illness on Wednesday, September 22 at 11:13 p.m.

Summer 2010 was three months old and is survived by parched earth, faded tans and warm beer.

Wow. Can’t believe it. Summer is over. Officially and for real. (though you wouldn’t know it here in NJ today – supposed to be high 80s). Summer, for me though, ends on Labor Day. Memorial Day to Labor Day – that’s how my summer rolls. But officially, it ended under a huge harvest moon Wednesday evening (except, again, if you were in the New Jersey area, where summer ended under windy, rolling thunder, lightening flashes and brief showers.)

But, before Summer got out of town….I had some fun shooting some kids at a Labor Day BBQ.

Give me kids and some splashing water that I can stop…I love it.

As an aside, those images of Liv, above, were straight out of the camera. I just liked how they looked in Camera Raw – tight and clean – that I just saved them as is. Everyone may not like them, but I do. Which is why we shoot, right?

It was just a fun day with some cool little kids. Plus, I was able to give the parents of the little guy some pics that they really liked. A nice way to end the summer.

Summer 2010 – RIP.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2010 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 50D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS4 or PSE6 and Nik Software
.

4 thoughts on “Dispatches: The End Of Summer

  1. These are great Mark and getting what we want in cam is the best of all possible outcomes.
    After reading the top paragraphs I want you to write my obit I think. :)

  2. Love this post, Mark. The “freeze frame” is very appropriate for those of us wanting to keep summer around a little longer…what little bit of it we had here in the Pacific Northwest.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers

