The Faces I Remember – Africa

This post contains an embedded photo slide show. If you can’t see it, or want to view it larger, click here to view it on my Vimeo page.

Amid the snow and the ice here in New Jersey, it’s almost hard to believe I was just getting back from Africa a week ago. It was a busy work week with meetings to attend, deadlines to meet. The polished lace-ups are back on my feet rather than the dusty boots (reminds me, I need to take them to the cobbler. They took a beating in Africa.)

Still thinking back to so many of the faces I saw while over on the dark continent. Lots of faces that showed hardship, some that showed despair. But so many smiles, so much hope too. The morning in Yetebon, at Project Mercy, as the kids were just waking up (or arriving for school), was one I won’t soon forget.

The beautiful morning light on their faces, their smiles when I “asked” if I could take their photo (many didn’t speak English save for “One camera!”- meaning “Take my photo!” – so I would gently “ask” with smile and a slight movement of my camera.) Not moving the camera to my eye, but just to show them what I wanted to do, where I wanted them to stand. A building made out of cinder block on the way into the breakfast area became my quick natural background for most of these photos. Just tried, for the most part, to fill the frame with these wonderful faces. f/5 at ISO 400 did the trick.

Here’s a photo slide show I put together of these wonderful faces that I’ll never forget…

Some were taken later in the morning, when we visited the kindergarten classrooms. This may be one of my favorite photos…non-posed, just a chance moment in time, with two sets of peeping eyes…

I’m going to remember a lot from this trip to Africa, and I’m probably not done writing about it, and sharing it. But what I really won’t forget are the faces….

And that is a pretty good thing to not forget.


© Mark V. Krajnak 2011 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 50D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS4 or PSE6 and Nik Software.

4 thoughts on “The Faces I Remember – Africa

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Faces I Remember – Africa « JerseyStyle Photography -- Topsy.com

  2. nice pix dude…glad you got to africa…been there alot, though every time it has been very tough places to go. hope to go back sometime and just take in the beauty of the people and the place. amazing strength, fortitude and wonder on that continent…joe

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

