Doin’ The Hustle

Click For Larger

Shot on 8th Ave, NYC

I had just left the Time Warner Center after spending the morning with Joe McNally and the Faces of Ground Zero exhibit.

This guy stopped me, hustling his CD. Home grown, home produced, he said. Could he get $10 for it?

What kind of music is it, I asked?

Socially consious rap, he said. Not gangster or anything like that. Stuff that tells stories.

So we started to chat. His name is Imahn J, and he’s been laying down tracks out of Jersey City. Been doing it for quite a while now, and hustling it, hustling it.

He writes, produces, does artwork, sketches, skateboards. I told him he’s a Renaissance man, then asked if I could shoot his portrait for my 100 Strangers project.

So, with some pretty nice light, I snapped off some frames. He’s number 76 in my 100 Strangers project. I gave him my card and a $20. He gave me his CD. Keep the change.

When you’re walking the streets in NYC, you’re stopped all the time – money for this, listen about that. I don’t always stop so not sure what make me stop and chat with Imahn J. But I’m glad I did. He’s like me and you or any other artist. He’s out there, getting it done, then hustling it for a few bucks. Hey may never hit it big (then again, maybe he will) but he has something to show for his passion.

I listened to ImahnJ’s CD in the truck on the way home. Not too bad…kinda Diggable Planets-like in spots. Check ImahnJ out at his Myspace spot.

And keep shooting. Keep hustlin’.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2011 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 50D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS4 or PSE6 and Nik Software.

One thought on “Doin’ The Hustle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 329 other followers

