Multimedia: Sons of Ireland Polar Bear Plunge 2012

Last week, I sent off my final photo and multimedia files to the Christine Burke & Associates (PR) and Sons of Ireland for their Polar Bear Plunge which I shot on January 1. I think I got some interesting shots for them this year.

Here’s the final multimedia slideshow I put together for them:

I’m really happy Christine Burke, the publicist for the Sons of Ireland, and the Sons themselves, keep bringing me back each year to shoot this event. There are cameras all over this event. When I do a Google image search for “Sons of Ireland Polar Bear Plunge Asbury Park”, I see a ton of photos.

So many photos, in fact, that I sometimes catch myself in them.

I don’t know who shot this, but that’s me in the background…Getting THIS shot…

This was my third year doing this event and even though I’m pretty comfortable doing it, it wasn’t without it’s challenges.

The thing I bring to this event is getting my butt out into the water for those “crowd rush” shots. This year, though, I got hit by a lot of splashes and the 50D didn’t take to kindly to it.

What I normally do is put it on autofocus and rip pixels. I pick out people or shots I see coming and zero in on them, or anticipate where the splash will be. Unfortunately, after getting hit with some water, my autofocus snubbed out. The whole thing – the REAL part where the mad rush crowd is coming in is only a few seconds. I don’t have a backup body and lens on me, so I had to quickly figure out that the machine isn’t working, switch to manual focus, focus in quick on something and keep going.

Luckily, I think I still got some good shots but I was pretty worried but if I a) got anything good and b) if my camera survived. My autofocus didn’t come back until a good while later when I went into the men’s room and started running the camera back and forth under the hot air dryer (#togtip there, I guess). Waterproof housings are expensive (I only need it once a year) and the cheap coverings are just that – cheap.

So, I wing and a prayer it, at least for now.

Still, I have to hand it to Canon – their bodies take a licking. Once it all dried, the 50D has been great again.

I’m just happy Christine and the Sons keep liking what I give them. Hopefully, come January 1, 2013, I’ll be in the same place – knee deep in the Atlantic Ocean hoping my toes don’t freeze off.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

