Weekend Shot: Family Recorder

As we continue to pack up our house and prepare to move in two weeks, we’re faced with a series of “lasts”….

The last time we trim the shrubs in the front (did that Saturday)…the last time we do this…the last time we pack that…

This weekend, we celebrated the last birthday that we will in this house.

Chase turned 2 this past Thursday, but Sunday saw us celebrating it with the family.

A great image? No. But it’s the image that I – as the guy with the camera always on my arm – is required to take.

The simple family snap…Chase getting ready to blow out the #2 candle on his strawberry birthday cake.

Not an Eggleson…but so what?

It’s what I do – I record our family.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Weekend Shot: Family Recorder

  1. Good post Mark. It hits close to home for me right now. I’ve been trying to determine what purpose my photography serves and what direction I should take with it. At this point I have produced little of substance and paid work this year, but looking back on my archives I’m struck by how much I’ve documented in and about my children’s lives and our family. A history that we’ll treasure in the not too distant future.

    It may be of work of a more personal nature that relates and resonates little with others, but it is no less important than any other photography I produce.

    • Well put, Matt. I’d beg to differ though – you’ve created work of substance from what I can see. Hope you’re not equating that to or with “paid work”. Those are two different things. I’ve seen a helluva lot of people’s “paid” work that is of no substance, no soul. Good for their bank account, bad for them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers

