Strangers No More

About as different as they could be.

If you’ve been following this space for awhile, you may remember that I have a personal project ongoing – really ongoing.

It’s called 100 Strangers. I have to meet, chat with, and find out some information about 100 strangers that I come across.

Sounds easy, and, frankly, I can’t believe it’s taking me so long to complete this. I chat very easily with people. Yet I seem to ebb and flow when it comes to asking if I can shoot their portraits. I’ve been stuck in the 80s (no, not Culture Club ’80s) for a while now.

But now that it’s June, I’ve given myself a goal to finish this project by Labor Day. So, it was best that I got back on the horse and shot some portraits.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I met Maureen while with my kids at historic Allaire Village in Wall Township. They had a Civil War reenactment going on. Maureen, who is also a seamstress from North Jersey, was one of the reenactors.

She told me she’s had a passion for the Civil War and that era, and said she’s been doing this since 1998.

She was relaxing under a gazebo when me, Olivia, Chase and Matty came upon her. Olivia was a little shy, but spoke with her a bit. Maureen was very sweet. I found it interesting that such a young woman would have just an interest and desire for the 1800s. I also found it charming as she worked my Blackberry in period attire to give me her email so that I could send her the images. I hope she didn’t break any rules.

It was about 12 noon and sun was high. I knew I could use that to my advantage and get some bounce near the gazebo. What also made it challenging was that I had Matty on my chest, in a baby bjorn. Portraiture is tough enough without a wiggly 7 month old on you. But we got it done.

I also used the Nik Silver “Antique Plate” filter to give me an old-looking portrait.

Maureen is #81 in my 100 Strangers Project.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Then I met Sebastian near 5th Ave and 33rd Street in New York City I walked back uptown from a meeting to Penn station. I saw some well-traveled guitar cases and gear leaning against a wall between Zen Spa and Sauna and a pizza joint and started taking some shots of it.

Sebastian was inside getting a couple of slices, along with two other guys. when he came out, we started to chat.

He said he was from the West Coast.

Where? I said.

Oh, all over. San Diego, LA, SF.

How long have you been in New York?

Couple of days, he said. Said he was here to meet with some record people and play some bar gigs.

I asked him who his musical influence were and he said bands like Korn and Slipknot.

Anything older, I asked?

Yeah, maybe Led Zepplin.[I don't really need to link to a LedZep page, do I?]

He then proceeded to play a hard-rocking/rapping acoustic song for me in the middle of the sidewalk while I shot some portraits of him. I gave him a few bucks for another couple of slices. He gave me his email address and asked if I could send him the pics.

Hell yeah. Musical Youth.

Sebastian is #82.

So, I”m back on my project. While I’m enjoying meeting these people, I do want to complete this project soon.

Hopefully, I can find my groove and finish it up.

18 to go….

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

It was a warm day,but she seemed quite cool in her full hoop skirt, blouse and stylish hat.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

