Friday Noir: Trubble’s Coming

A little different Friday Noir today…

A couple of months ago, I mentioned author Bard Constantine’s new book, The Troubleshooter. Bard calls it dystopian noir with a protagonist, Mick Trubble, that’s a cross between between Philip Marlowe and Blade Runner.

Bard had come across my noir images online and contacted me about possibly using one for the cover of this book. Sounded like a fun project, so I sent Bard some images that he thought he may want to use.

Then, in a post back in April, I did a little mock-up of what I thought a Troubleshooter cover could look like.

It was fun to do, using my crude Photoshop and design skills. But Bard, to his credit, engaged a true designer, Stefan, who came up with the eventual cover for The Troubleshooter.

It looks fantastic – exactly how I pictured it when I read the chapter Bard sent me – and I’m happy to see that they were able to still use “the man in the fedora” as a central element:

Bard had a pretty interesting story. He was thirty when he decided to give writing a full-time go. And he’s sweated blood since then, writing, rewriting, writing and writing.

Getting a book published is as a hard as the photography we do. But he’s keeping after it, looking at self publishing, e-publishing and indie publishing.

It’s not easy, but it’s his passion, and he’s pushing forward, getting better.

I’m proud to be along for part of his journey and I wish him the best of luck.

You can pick up an electronic copy of The Troubleshooter from Amazon in paperback or e-version. Also, all day on July 9th, the Dieselpunks website will be giving away copies of the book.

Check it out. You’ll be impressed.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

8 thoughts on “Friday Noir: Trubble’s Coming

  1. Mark, it is a pleasure to work with you. Thanks for contributing to a great cover, and for the feature.

  2. Hi Mark,
    My name is Stefan and I’m lucky enough to have been asked by Bard to design the cover for his latest book, TheTroubleshooter. I just wanted to say how happy I am you liked the final result and to thank you for your kind words about my work. It was a privilege to work from one of your so great shots, really. I’m a total fan of your images, especially those in the Noir genre your talent captures the very essence of to perfection, I think. I wouldn’t have liked to be in Bard’s shoes and have to pick up just one of your shots! Congratulations, anyway and keep up the good work: you have such an eye, in my opinion.

    • Stefan, thank you so much for the nice words. That means a lot to me coming from an artist such as yourself. Your work is fantastic a well. Perhaps we can continue to collaborate? ~ Mark

      • Thank you very much for your reply, Mark. I truly meant every word in my latest message: I can’t think of enough vocabulary to praise your work. Each and every photo you make tells a story, especially those in the Noir style again, and I’m not surprised Bard – and most probably many other writers – absolutely want them to illustrate their litterary work. To tell you the whole truth, as for me, I was relieved to read you liked the final result for The Troubleshooter cover: I was afraid you might think I “worked too much” your original shot! I was actually reluctant to touch it myself, since it screamed NoIr so much, already. But we had to turn it into an illustration of Bard’s New Haven, hadn’t we?. You perfectly got it: how nice to work about projects with smart, clever, intelligent and sensitive persons.
        So yes, Mark: to collaborate with you again would most definitely be an honor and a pleasure for me. Wow! Of course, please feel free to get in touch with me directly to my e-mail address. I’ll be looking forward to hear from you again and, in the meantime, I’m sending you
        All the best from your greatest fan in Paris.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

