Friday Noir: Stick Or Quit

Sometimes it’s tough to know what to do.

Do you keep going on or take another track?

Do you stay or go?

Do you stick? Or do you quit?

Like that song says, gotta know when to hold ‘em, know when to fold ‘em.

Sometimes it’s best to just hole up and regroup.

Put the piece down for a bit, catch some R&R.

Wait until the heat is off.

Then….

Then….

And only then you can fire it back up.

Stay cool, cats. See you on the flipside.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I think I’m going to take a break from posting my Friday Noir’s for a while.

I’ve posted an image every Friday since the start of 2012. And even before that, I posted one every Friday in December, I think.

However, now I seem to be in a bit of a rut. This was made evident to me when I read this post by my photographer friend up in Vancouver, Sabrina Henry, about her ART 2012 experiences.

In the post, she says “Having 20 images of a particular subject matter in different light or form doesn’t necessarily mean you have a vision for the work. In a few cases, the work is repetitive and the photographer is essentially photographing the same subject matter multiple times.

I’m thinking I’ve fallen into this trap. The noir images are a guy in a fedora, surrounded (hopefully) by some pretty nice light, backed up by what I also hope is a compelling short story.

But is that enough? I may be rubbing this genre thin.

So, while I’ll still be looking for nice light (moving to the new town in New Jersey has given me new places to seek this out), and the stories of “the man in the fedora” are always in my head….I think I may just post them when I know I have something really strong.

How will I know if it’s strong enough or not? Not sure. Hopefully, you’ll give me feedback to be my compass.

Then gain, shooting what pleases me should be what we’re all about right? It’s our art, our commitment, our passion.

Let’s see where it goes.

As always, though, this is a JSP community. I’d appreciate your thoughts below.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

7 thoughts on “Friday Noir: Stick Or Quit

  1. I think that shooting what pleases you is an entirely good guide for your work. If you’re not yet tired of the guy in a fedora, then maybe you still have something more to express.

    • Rick – Well, I’m certainly not tired of the guy in the fedora. That’s the beauty of the genre – there’s always the next story to tell. I just may not post these images weekly so as to no bore all you who take time to come check out this blog.

      Absence makes the heart grow fonder (or harder, as Fedora would say) perhaps…

  2. I agree with Rick – if it makes you happy, shoot it! If it doesn’t then don’t. Simple as that. I think sometimes people anguish over images too much. It’s all about fun.

  3. I came in late to these, so I’ll miss them if you indeed take a break. I’m thankful for the the impact you’ve already had with the book cover. Oh, and look for your copies real soon. I just got a new batch in today…

  4. I love them and agree with Rick and Mark. But I seem to remember you doing some awesome close up shots of things like the cigarette sitting in the ashtray, things like that. Maybe you can work a story around ‘evidence’ or something along those lines…you could create your own ‘whodunit’!

  5. Mark feel free to send one a week to me to review :) I never get tired of these or the stories that go with them.

    The quote from Sabrina is meant to shooting the same photo over and over sorta known as ” working the subject” the real point is to work an idea not a single subject matter. Finding a different way to show the same concept or idea or thought is really working the subject not the subject matter.

    I love the image that goes with this post it is one of the best so far I think. This series while a little lighthearted is working a subject/thought and has an ongoing story and point to it.

    Take a break if you must but please don’t abandon the series. It is one of the highlights of my week.

    • I appreciate everyone’s comments and thoughts here. To clarify, I don’t intend to stop shooting my noir genre images. These are conceptual images that I think about, then enjoy executing. This genre is in my blood; I like, nay, love to shoot them. I just don’t know that I’ll be posting them every Friday as I have been so as not to bore all you folks that stop by this blog. Have no fear, though…the Fedora will always be near.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

