Friday Noir: Further On Up The road

Where the road is dark, and the seed is sowed.
Where the gun is cocked and the bullet’s cold.
Where the miles are marked in the blood and gold….

I’ll meet you further on up the road

Got on my dead man’s suit and my smilin’ skull ring.
My lucky graveyard boots and song to sing.
I got a song to sing, keep me out of the cold….

And I’ll meet you further on up the road.

Where the way is dark and the night is cold.
One sunny mornin’ we’ll rise I know.
And I’ll meet you further on up the road.

Now I been out in the desert, just doin’ my time.
Searchin’ through the dust, lookin’ for a sign.

If there’s a light up ahead, well brother, I don’t know.
But I got this fever burnin’ in my soul.
So let’s take the good times as they go.
And I’ll meet you further on up the road

One sunny mornin’ we’ll rise I know…

And I’ll meet you further on up the road

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Springsteen and Noir.

I started to explore this connection a while ago. A few months ago, I put the first visual to one of Springsteen’s songs, a visual I thought captured the element of the lyrics.

This one here is another visual examination of one of Bruce Springsteen’s songs, one he wrote for The Rising. Futher On Up The Road…there’s a lot to read into that phrase, and the lyrics that accompany it too.

Is the protagonist here good or bad? Is he wearing a ten-gallon hat or a fedora? Does he know where he’s going? Where he’s been?

When he sets out to meet you futher on up the road…is that later in life, or after you’re sunk six feet low?

To me, it can be any, all, or none of these things. Depends when I listen to it.

Hard to tell, and that’s the beauty of noir to me. Still, it’s a story we all live through to a degree. And it’s a story that, because of the ambiquitiy, to me, fits in the noir genre as well.

In noir, while most is dark and bleak, there’s always alittle bit of light at the end of the tunnel…

Maybe the bird is the thing dreams are made of (The Maltese Falcon.) Maybe the good guy will get the bad guy’s girl (The Third Man). Or the bad guy with morals will get the heist money he’s owed. (Payback.)

It’s that false hope, that unheeded expectation that is part of the element to noir.

I see it in this Springsteen song, especially. He’s kept in rotatin since it premiered on The Rising a few years ago. I like the more growly versions he’s down; seems to fit with the lyrics.

Of course, The Man In Black did damn fine cover of it too.

See you further on up the road….

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

6 thoughts on “Friday Noir: Further On Up The road

  1. Epic photo, brother. I like the commentary as well. That’s the thing about noir. It looks like black and white, but it’s really a lot of shades of gray…

  2. With this other shot, Mark proves again that Noir is not “just” cliché night scenes of a postlamp at some street corner. It’s something from the inside. A feel you have or you don’t have. I you do have it, you can take it anywhere and see it in the most unexpected places and circumstances, behind the faces and the façades. Great job, Mark, as always.

    • @Stefan…you’re absolutely correct. And that’s what I try to show with some of my noir photography – it’s not just fedoras and streetlamps, though that’s great too. It is a feel.

  3. Pingback: Friday Noir: Pitch Black Night « JerseyStyle Photography

  4. Pingback: Friday Noir: Riches Squandered | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers

