JSP Visual Week In Review | 10.27.12

Here we are again, at the end of another month. I say it every thirty days around this time – where does the month go?

It was a big week around these parts. My youngest, Matthew Logan, celebrated his first birthday last Sunday. It was a swingin’ bash of presents, family, spaghetti and meatballs and cupcakes. As it should be.

Here in the Great State of New Jersey, we’re preparing for the landfall of Hurrican Sandy (aka Frankenstorm) in the next day or so. A full moon is slated for Monday, and that, of course, affects the weather as well. We’ll be battening down the hatches till then, I guess.

Photographically speaking, it was a bit of weird week for me and I’m trying to figure it out a little. Here’s why…

With all of the photos we take, we’re always interested in what people find interesting or what strikes a chord (or nerve) with people that view our work.

Over on my Flickr page, I posted my Further On Up The Road image. For my typical Flickr stats, it’s done pretty well – over 300 views, 22 Fav’s, 8 comments. Again, of me, that’s pretty good.

Then, this week, I also posted my Sweatshops of Soil image. Maybe not as engaging of a photo, but I posted it in the same Flickr groups, and the title, backstory is pretty engaging I think.

26 views. No favs. 2 comments.

Really? I try to shoot and write something that is compelling and is a legitimate social issue…and it’s received like a whistle in windstorm.

I know you can never gauge what will attract people (one of the reasons I rarely enter photo contests because it’s so subjective), but I would have thought the migrant worker image and story would have been garnered more attention.

It’s probably a bad way to judge things, but in this day and age of clicks and “Likes”…it’s natural. And/or maybe I’m just overthinking all this, it’s no big deal and I shouldn’t lament it so much. I know, too, a few folks promoted the Soil image/story on Twitter or their Facebook page, and I appreciate that a lot.

And, too, perhaps I should be encouraged that the Road photo did well on Flickr…come for the Road, and hopefully people will see/read about the migrant worker situation.

Who knows.

It’s all a gamble when it’s just a game….

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This Week’s Links:

* Thing #1 I find hard to believe, but I sure appreciate it.

* Dean.

* Love At First Heist.

* Keeping The Creative Juices Flowing.

* I want to shoot noir the way James Ellroy writes.

* The Virtue of Deleting Images.

* David Bailey and The Long Click Goodbye.

* “Did I ever tell you that your photo hangs in my office above a photo of Ansel Adams in his darkroom? True story.” ~ Syl Arena. (Thing #2 I find hard to believe….)

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

One thought on “JSP Visual Week In Review | 10.27.12

  1. It’s a funny thing, what gets attention and what doesn’t. Facebook tracks posts on my author page, and almost always the most irrelevant posts get the most notice. What that says about human attention is up for debate, I guess.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

