Keep Your Friends Close…And Your Gat Closer

Quiet night in the Great State of New Jersey. The Mrs. went out with some friends, the Little One went down early, so I was able to relax with a pizza and some friends….

In this case, Samuel Spade and The Maltese Falcon on Turner Classic Movies. Great movie. My favorite.

Got me to thinking that I should do another Friday Noir post, and make note of another friend of mine.

keep-your-friends-close500

View it larger.

I did this image as a bit of homage to a virtual friend of mine, Mark Coggins. It was a Saturday morning and the light was really nice in my home office. I stripped it down bare to make it look like a place Sam Spade might be hanging out in…if Sam Spade was a reader (according to the novel Spade & Archer, he was…but he wasn’t making much headway with The Great Gatsby.) The light was the star here – it helped me get a nice clean image with good pick-up of detail. I like the splash of sunlight on the knee…

Anyway, Mark is not only a great mystery writer but a great photographer as well. We “met” a couple of years ago and I’ve seen had the pleasure of reading a number of his books. Many are set in the San Francisco/Silicon Valley areas, and having lived in SF for a bit, it’s neat to read his work. I keep hasseling him that he needs to do a book tour here in NJ and I’ll buy him a beer, but so far, he hasn’t been able to make it out.

I link to his blog over there on the right – check it out. He’s got a new book coming out soon, The Big Wake Up, and I can’t wait to read it.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2009 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 20D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS2 and Nik Software.

2 thoughts on “Keep Your Friends Close…And Your Gat Closer

Leave a Reply

