Some Extra Motivation

Share

Out of the blue this week, I received an email from Agatha, the very first person in my 100 Strangers project.

Seems she was doing a Google search and came across it. I’m glad she did and I’m glad she reached out to me. My process for my 100 Strangers has really evolved as I’ve worked on this project. And as much as I’d like to get into it here, I’m – for now – saving it for a guest blog post over at Sabrina Henry’s site. I promised her. Hopefully, I can get her my text and she can get it up as soon as possible.

But for now, just know that my process has evolved and developed. And just this past week, I shot #58, a gal named Karen.

Working class, getting it done. Holding two jobs. Getting it done. Waitressing at the Town & Country Diner in Toms River for about three years now. Her face was also on the place mat in front of me on the table advertising her services as a local realtor. “That’s me,” she said, pointing at her in the business suit head shot. Times are tough. The realty business is tough. Need to take on a second income. Hence, the Town & Country gig.

Pour the coffee to the seniors. Serve the Jell-O to the juniors.

A very nice gal, getting it done any way she can.

The project stalled a bit in August. I didn’t shoot anyone. Not good on my part. I have to keep moving this forward and not shooting anyone in 30 days is unacceptable. Especially after I finished July with a flourish, thanks in large part to the Asbury Park Photo Walk.

There was, clockwise, Laura, who is getting it done in her own way. More on this special woman in a future post. Then Tao, a fisherman who was enjoying a warm summer evening. And then a few from the boardwalk in Asbury Park – Mike, Mickey and Bridgett – where I used a peeling black facade as an impromptu portrait studio.

It was great to get the ball rolling again with Karen. Great gal to give of her time to me. Gave me some extra motivation heading into Fall.

Plus, she serves up a mean turkey club sandwich too.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2010 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 50D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS2 or PSE6 and Nik Software
.

Leave a Reply

