PhotoFlexin’ In Jersey

I’d don’t have a lot of expendable income. I’m a married guy with two kids, a wife and two dogs. To put money against one of my passions takes lot of soul searching.

Recently, though, I did make a purchase. It’s a small, lightweight softbox from PhotoFlex. It’s called the Photoflex LiteDome XS Softbox, a 12x16x9″ beauty. It’s small, easy to set up and quite portable.

Finally, this past weekend, I got the chance to give it a whirl. Called an old buddy of mine, The Man in The Fedora, to come over and provide some texture. So, using a corner of my living room, we tested it out.

On the 50D, I was in AV mode and set the ISO on the 50D to around 160. On the 430EX, I set it to Manuel mode at 1/8th power. To supply some back light for separation, just a basic table lamp set on the floor and bounced off the back wall.

Off-camera flash, especially using a softbox, is a new animal for me. I’ve done it some, but not enough to feel super comfortable. I’d like to figure out the intricacies of it all, and see how I can include it into my photography.

I was pretty happy with this initial outing. Three looks – warmed up, cool blue and B&W. Personally, I like what this little baby can do. More from this shoot to come…

© Mark V. Krajnak 2009 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 50D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS4 or PSE6 and Nik Software
.

8 thoughts on “PhotoFlexin’ In Jersey

  1. Hey,
    I found your post from my friend Josh Bradley and I really love what you’ve done here. I find it a real inspiration with the simplest of tools you have used. the light is fantastic and the black and whites emphasizing the detail really hits the mark. cant wait to see what you come up with next. Great work!

    p.s. im curious what the 2nd to last one would look like if it took a warmer angle, just my 2cents

  2. Nice photos Mark. I also have this same model of softbox and I love it. It’s great to travel with because of its size and it does produce a very nice light. I like the photos a lot. Well done.

Leave a Reply

