Keep Telling The Story

“You ain’t a beauty but hey you’re alright….” ~ Bruce Springsteen, Thunder Road

Click For Larger

Ever have one of those days where you do a lot of shooting – people, street, whatever – and you think you’re getting it….then you look at the files later on and think “What the HELL was I shooting today? This stuff sucks.”

I had that day yesterday. Was doing a little personal photo walk around Jersey City, New Jersey. A lot of urban landscape. Thought I was getting it.

Then I looked at the files last night. Ugh. So much so, I posted this to Twitter:

Went to bed thinking “Some days you beat the camera, some days the camera beats you. The camera beat me today.”

Then, this morning, two things happened. First, I saw this reply on Twitter from my buddy Ray Ketcham, and one from another follower of mine, David Baker:

And then I read this post by Chase Jarvis. If you haven’t seen it yet, give it a read.

Sometimes I have a hard time seeing myself as a “creative person” or a story teller. I know that’s what I view myself as – most days, anyway. But then there are other days where it just doesn’t seem like it’s there.

Still, the pick-me-ups that Ray and Dave gave me through social media (one reason why I really enjoy social media) and the inspiration that Chase often gives in his posts help a lot.

In my Tweet, I sarcastically used the hashtag #canonforsale. In doing so, I was dwelling on the crappy images I thought I shot yesterday. I totally forgot, though, how excited my little girl’s preschool teacher was earlier in the day when I gave her a very nice 8×10 color print of her class that I shot on the firehouse field trip last Friday. I was photographer and art director there, getting all the kids and teachers to pose in front of the truck, on the bumper and get the “class shot” from that field trip.

She loved it.

I forgot how our images, our creativity, our art, help bring a smile to others. Sometimes I’m telling that story; sometimes I’m not.

But there’s always a new day, a new story to tell. Thanks to Chase, Ray, and Dave for picking me up and reminding me of that.

Go tell your story. You’ll be alright.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2011 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved
Unless otherwise noted, images captured with a Canon 50D, SanDisk digital film, finished with PS4 or PSE6 and Nik Software.

5 thoughts on “Keep Telling The Story

  1. Absolutely, the final line was the right place to get to, but thanks for sharing how you got there. I felt the same way last weekend. Felt like it was all crap. It made me even more nervous for the first event I have ever had to photograph, which was on Wednesday. Seems I got it out of my system as despite 1. never having done event photography, and 2. only having had a week to play around with my new (first!) flash and mini softbox. In the end I really enjoyed it and on first perusal I am quite happy with a lot of what I got. Have a good weekend. #4weeks4us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

