The Man On 5th Ave

“Excuse me, can you tell me where Madison is?”

I was in the New York City last week. Just left the Weegee exhibition at the International Center of Photography, and had to get over a few blocks to a meeting.

I was running a little late and, when I’m in the city and that happens, I have no problems asking for directions. I don’t know the streets that well, and had to get over to Madison Ave, pronto. I was on the corner of 43rd and 5th.

The gent next to me had tousled gray hair, smart black horn-rimmed glasses. A tan raincoat against the chill.

“Excuse me, can you tell me where Madison is?”

He turned and gave me a wry smile.

“Yep, just up another block. You’re almost there.”

Then…

“Don’t worry. You live in New York long enough, you’ll get it.”

I smile back and said thanks. I appreciated him not making me feel like too much of a rube.

I did take a few seconds to take in this man who, obviously, had spent a lot of time in New York.

The weathered, cracked classic brief case.

Tidy nails, though not overly so.

The comfortable shoes, worn through in the heel.

If I were Sherlock Holmes, I’d deduce that he pounded the pavement a lot, didn’t take too many cabs. However, his business was from the handshake up. He wasn’t about to wear prissy $200 business shoes when they wouldn’t help him seal the deal.

We both crossed, and I was behind him for a block. All of this went through my mind. Had to get one more shot of him before he evaporated into the New York landscape…

Just another man on 5th avenue…

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “The Man On 5th Ave

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

