Roxy And Rob

The power of the camera. The Power Of The Photograph.

Last month, I took a walk during lunch to get some air. I ended up at an antiques store not far away from my office. I go there from time to time, but hadn’t been in a long while.

Usually when I prowl around antique stores, I’m looking for retro cuff links, or old cameras, or old pulp/noir paperbacks.

This day, I got lucky.

Yes, I scored a sweet pair of silver knot cuff links (and a tie band!) for just $20.

But I also got to meet Roxy. That’s her above.

See, Roxy is a two-year old English Bulldog with a face and body only her English Bulldoggy mother could love.

Big fat paws. Neck rolls like a pack of hot dogs. Stocky. Stiff whiskers. Under bite.

But as soon as she ambled down the aisle, I knew I had to shoot her. Of course, the 50D was in the bag on my shoulder so I asked her owner (and the owner of the store), Rob, if I could take a portrait of her.

I had a scant couple of minutes. Roxy still has a lot of puppy in her and it ain’t like she’s sitting still.

Still…I got a couple of images I really liked.

I knew when I shot them I’d be processing them as B&W’s. I thanked Rob for letting me shoot her, and and he gave me his card.

“Send me one of the pics, ok?” he said.

“Will do,” I said.

Later on, after processing them, I thought I’d do him one better. I’m make a print of the one portrait and give it to him.

I finally got back to the store last Friday. I walked in and re-introduced myself. I reminded him that I took some pictures of Roxy the other week and promised him one.

I pulled the print out to give to him.

He literally took a step back. He loved it.

He kept looking at the print, and then pointed to a couple of old B&W pictures behind the counter. Him, years ago, with a dog from his past, a Shar-Pei. (Damned if I could remember that pups name now)

He told me the story how another photographer, years ago, had taken some pictures of him with the Shar-Pei and he really loved them, especially in black & white. So, that, combined with the print I just gave him, really meant a lot.

I then asked if I could take his photo with the print. Again, it was quick, people were in the store, but I wanted to do a nice environmental portrait of him.

Think I’ll send this to Rob too. Hope he takes some joy in it. And in fact, he became #80 in my 100 Strangers project as well.

And I wish Roxy a long life, filled with filled water bowls, belly scratches and biscuits.

She really is a beautiful gal.


© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

4 thoughts on “Roxy And Rob

  1. You are such a natural storyteller, Mark. I love the story here. Image #2 makes me think of a bull(dog) in a china shop. A beautiful environmental portrait of Rob too. I’m sure you made his day.

Leave a Reply

