Family Contact (Sheet)

There are photos we love to shoot, and there are photos we have to shoot.

It’s images like these that I love to have to shoot.

When it’s my kids meet up with 1/2 of my sister’s kids (my godson was unfortunately absent), I just have to try to corral them all on the side steps of my aunt’s house for a few minutes (seconds, really) and just rip some pixels.

Hopefully this summer we’ll get them all together and do this again.

We were all at my aunt’s house in Pennsylvania’s Carbon County for Easter afternoon. It’s been a while since I had visited, and in fact, my aunt – turning 80 at the end of this week – hadn’t even seen Chase yet. So, she finally met Chase and Matthew, and saw how big Olivia had gotten.

I jokingly say that going to aunt’s house – the house she, her brother (and my uncle) Ted and my mother – grew up in is like going back in time almost. Not much has changed in the kitchen or the bedrooms in all the years I’ve been going there. When I was little, those rooms, plus the attic and the basement, held such adventure and fascination for me. It was great to visit again, though this time was the first time I was really worried one of the kids was going to stumble down the really steep steps that go upstairs. I’m pretty sure I’ve fallen down them a few times in my life as well.

The kids dashed around the yard, hunting for Easter eggs. They ate one of my favorite holiday meal: Polish kielbasa, cold cooked ham, hard boiled eggs and Paska bread. Not to mention all the great homemade cookies.

It was a great visit, good to see my aunt again, as well as a number of other relatives that live around town. Definitely need to get back there again much sooner than later…

Family, fun, food, memories…it’s what the holidays are all about.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

