Dispatches: Back In Time

As I mentioned a bit in my last post, traveling up to Carbon County, Pennsylvania, this past Sunday was like going back in time for me, even moreso than usual.

I had my two boys in the truck with me as my wife and little girl were already at our final destination, my aunt’s house. As I motored up Route 433 in Lehighton, I decided to take a quick right and have a look at the Mahoning Drive-in Theater.

The only thing that reminded me I was in 2012 were the movies that were playing. Otherwise, it could have been the late 1940s, when the drive-in opened.

Here’s a short little photo essay….

I was hoping I would to have the chance to stop by on the way back to NJ, when the soft evening light would be there, but it didn’t work out that way. Still, I was glad with what I got. (the little kids in my neighborhood have a saying: You get what you get and you’ll like what you get! Words to live by sometimes.)

What was interesting, though, was after I left the drive-in, and continued on my way, I saw this in a auto bodyshop parking lot:

A 1940’s Buick Eight.Perhaps it’s the one Stephen King wrote about.

I don’t know, but I see a beauty like this and I just have pull over and grab some shots.

Old girl’s got some war scratches on her for surce, but can you imagine her back in 1948….heading out to the drive-in on a warm summer night with you best gal next to you to catch a Bogart in The Treasure of the Sierra Madre, or Wells in The Lady from Shanghai, or even this fun romp.

In a blog post, Joe McNally talks about his camera covering milestones. He’s also said his camera is a visa, getting him into things he wouldn’t otherwise get to. In the comments section, someone else mentioned it’s also a time machine.

It take us back in time, makes us think about that time, the people, the places… and retell their stories.

I believe in that.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

3 thoughts on “Dispatches: Back In Time

  1. I love how serendipity always seems to find you and grace you with wonderful stories Mark. I also think about all the while you are building memories for your kids about those moments in time. You are one great Dad!

Leave a Reply

