And The Winner Is….

Yesterday I asked, which photo, A or B, did you like better…

Thanks to everyone who left a comment or sent me a Tweet. By a score of 4 to 2, the color version of that same scene won. Some folks said that while they liked the B&W version, they felt their eyes were attracted to the sky and they lost the man with the red jacket and cane in the scene.

Which is interesting, because, just a minute or so before, I shot the same scene before Mr. Red Jacket came into the frame…

I was liking the rust and the sky….but as soon as I saw Mr. Red Jacket coming, I got myself ready for another shot, this time with him in it. I just always like to have a person in the shot as I think it lends more to the overall image.

You give me these two images and I’m going to pick the one with the person in it every time. i do that all the time. I may see a scene I like, but if I can be patient enough to let someone get into the frame, I’ll do that. I certainly did that here – I liked the billboard, but it was the people that made it. And with this image.

People just make the frame more interesting to me. Why is that?

The other interesting comment I got was from Seattle-based photographer Mark Olwick who asked me to check the crop. He thought the image could lose the red restroom structure on the right side of the frame, and tighten up the whole image.

Hmmm….

I like that edit, though, honestly, I like both images. I tend to keep my images wide-frame horizontals which, I guess, both of these still are. But I don’t mind having the restroom structure in frame, either.

I think we all have a favorite way to edit our photos – keeping things in, making things tighter with a particular crop. When I was a journalist, I had editors that would bleed red editing pen all over my work (sometimes to the point where I wonder if what I had written was still in piece somewhere.) But editing – good editing – comes with experience, and how you want the final image to look. It’s not right or wrong, it’s perspective and choice.

Sometimes I think I would love to take my 25 or 30 favorite images and turn them over to someone like Mark, or Jay Maisel and ask them to edit them for me, just to see what they’d say.

Other times, it scare me to death about what they may say….

But we should all edit with a strict eye. Sometimes, leave the frame wide open. Other times, crop it in so that you are showing your viewer what you want them to see.

Experiment. See what you like to shoot and how you like to edit. There’s no right or wrong.

It’s part of the whole process, and, eventually, it will define your photographic style.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

4 thoughts on “And The Winner Is….

  1. A couple of comments, Mark. First, Mr. Red Jacket does something else for someone who isn’t familiar with the actual scene—he adds scale. I didn’t really notice the benches in the first one and thought the taco stand was much larger. When I saw the photo with Mr. Red Jacket, my first thought was, “He’s a giant!”

    Second, I wouldn’t be afraid of the feedback you’d get from a good editor. (I don’t think you actually are, but I can definitely relate to the part of you that would be a little bit terrified.) I think it goes back to finding someone you trust to look at your work honestly and who has the experience to give you valuable feedback. I’m sure Mr. Olwick and Mr. Maisel would be willing to do that 🙂

Leave a Reply

