Friday Noir: Boardwalk Plans

Hey man, can you lend me a few bucks?
And tonight can you get us a ride?

Yeah, we gotta make it through the tunnel
Got a meeting with THE MAN on the other side.

This guy, he’s the real thing.
So if you want to come along
You gotta promise you won’t say anything.

‘Cause this guy don’t dance
And the word’s been passed…

This is our last chance.

Eddie, man, we gotta stay cool tonight.
‘Cause man, we got ourselves out on that line.

If we blow this one
They ain’t gonna be looking for just me this time.

All we gotta do is hold up our end.

Here stuff this in your pocket.
It’ll look like you’re carrying a friend.

And remember, just don’t smile.

And change your shirt, ’cause tonight we got style.

Well Cherry says she’s gonna walk.
‘Cause she found out I took her radio and hocked it.
But Eddie, man, she don’t understand…
That two grand’s practically sitting here in my pocket.

And tonight’s gonna be everything that I said.
And when I walk through that door…
I’m just gonna throw that money on the bed.
She’ll see this time I wasn’t just talking.

Then I’m gonna go out walking.

Hey Eddie, can you catch us a ride?

Yeah, tonight’s gonna be everything that I said…

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

A little different Friday Noir today in that the story to this picture isn’t mine.

Not sure if you recognize it; maybe some of you do.

One of the songs on Bruce Springsteen’s 1975’s Born To Run album is a song called Meeting Across the River. The initial pressings of this song had it called The Heist, so you know there’s more than a little noir involved. Some good background on it here.

Two-bit criminals, trying to score some easy money. Making plans earlier in the day on the dirty boardwalk, the morning mist swirling around them.

You can see it later all ending badly.

Last weekend, while down in Seaside Heights, NJ, I caught this scene. Even as I was shooting it, it had a noir-ish aspect to it. It was late morning on a gray, damp, raw, foggy day. I was trying to keep an eye on my kids while still doing some shooting.

The story sketched out in the song just seemed to work with this image. It really felt like this song was unfolding in the few seconds I had in front of me.

This has been something I’ve been flirting with in my head for a while now. You all know I’m a big Springsteen fan. As I listen to all the songs in his catalog, I can’t help but notice that many draw on the noir genre, and express many of the key themes: the down and out, the desolate, trying to make a come back, things not always working out, yet the protagonist keeps trying.

I’m debating about pursuing this more, crafting some my noir images to illustrate the lines in the Springsteen songs that I think illustrate this. Not sure. Perhaps a new personal project. I think there’s something there though, and despite all that’s been written about the E Street Band, not sure this angle has ever been explored yet.

This may be be a good start though.

Trying to get that ride to the other side….

Here’s the song Meeting Across The River.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

8 thoughts on “Friday Noir: Boardwalk Plans

  1. Pingback: Friday Noir: Further On Up The road « JerseyStyle Photography

  2. Pingback: Friday Noir: Pitch Black Night « JerseyStyle Photography

  3. Pingback: Friday Noir: Riches Squandered | JerseyStyle Photography

  4. Pingback: Coming To The Showroom Cinema: Bruce Noir and JSP | JerseyStyle Photography

  5. Pingback: 30 Days of Noir: Day 14 ~ The Sound of Noir | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

