Orange With Envy

Today, the good people of San Francisco will be celebrating the 75th Anniversary of the Golden Gate Bridge.

I would hazard that it’s one of the most photographed structures in the world. If you’ve ever been out to San Francisco and you’ve seen the span in person, you know why.

No matter if you’re on the SF or Marin side, the Golden Gate Bridge is awe-inspiring. Painted in “International Orange”, it’s jut majestic.

To me, it often looks like part of a movie backdrop.

There is a New Jersey connection to the Golden Gate Bridge, too – John Roebling and his company forged and stretched the steel cables that make up the suspension bridge.

Many times, many ways…that’s how the bridge has been photographed. When I lived in San Francisco from 2003 to 2004, I was just getting into photography. I was toting around a Canon Rebel film SLR and a Canon A80 point-and-shoot. I look back now and wish I would have taken more advantage of my surroundings.

But even then, I was trying to get my camera in a new place. Sure, the Golden Gate Bridge has been shot many times, many ways, but I was, even then, trying to get a unique take on it.

View from inside Fort Point

The bridge could be standing out bright and clear one day, encased in fog the next. It’s always changing.

And for me, at least, it’s one of those things I miss about living in San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

