JSP Visual Week In Review | 06.23.12

Summer arrived this week with a boom, first in the form of heat, and then, to close us out, thunder booms as storms rolled across the state.

The heat and humidity brought us to near 100 degrees for a couple of days, but I’m not complaining just yet. If you’ve read this blog for a while, you know I don’t suffer winter lightly. I’ll take heat and humidity over cold everyday (though I still like change of seasons so I’m not ready to move to Arizona or anything like that.)

We continue to settle into the new house, had our first official BBQ last Sunday, Father’s Day. It was nice to be able to spread out. That first photo up top came from my “family portrait shoot” – 10 second timer, got everyone looking at the same time on only the second try.

I was in New York all day on Wednesday and had three great meetings with some creative types about some work-related projects. Love that aspect of my job – keeps my own creativity fired up. Going to be a lot of work ahead of me, but that’s the fun of it.

Another thing I did this week was finally pull together some images of mine from when I was in Mumbai a couple of years ago to make a new photo book (middle photo up top). Should get it soon, so I’ll be sure to let you know.

This weekend looks to be nice – cooler temps but still sunny.

I hear the beach calling…

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This Week’s Links:

* From NPR Pictures, Picturing The South

* Incredible piece in the Washington Post earlier this week from photojournalist David Burnett about the shot he missed. (think you have to sign up to read to the whole thing, but it’s free. Worth it.)

* From LIFE magazine, rare photos of Muhammad Ali.

* Great post here by Philadelphia-based photographer Chris Crissman on why he still prints photos.

* From Texas, Jerod Foster gives a lighting tutorial…but much more in his Field Lighting #22 post.

* Infographic: It’s All About The Image

* “Being aware is still what photography is all about.” ~ David Burnett

Leave a Reply

