Chicago On Fire

It was back on October 8, 1871, that Mrs. O’Leary’s cow – allegedly – kicked over a lantern, thereby starting the Great Chicago Fire.

The reporter who created this story confessed that it was made up. Still, whatever the cause, much of the Great City of Chicago was destroyed by that sweeping fire.

Luckily, when I was there a couple of weeks ago, there was no fire for me to see. Just the regular wonderful city that I’ve come to know and love.

From the bus stops to the roof tops to the barbeshops, it was a typically great visit. And I was able to shoot some interesting images.

Having trouble viewing the video? Click here to watch on YouTube.

I didn’t get to the old Capone hang out, The Green Mill. And, The Four Deuces, mentioned the other week on Boardwalk Empire, is long gone (good thing, probably.) But I did have some great deep-dish pizza at Pizano’s, and met up with an old friend at a new spot….

All in all, it was another great visit to a great city.

Chicago was on fire.

I’m already looking for an excuse to return.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

One thought on “Chicago On Fire

  1. Wonderful tour of the city. The barber shop is incredible: just like in one of my favorite noir films “The Man Who Wasn’t There” by the Cohen Brothers.
    It just made me feel even more frustrated that I’ve never been to Chicago. Thank you so much for spoiling my day, Mark…

Leave a Reply

