Friday Noir: Pitch Black Night

I met a little girl and I settled down
In a little house out on the edge of town.

We got married, and swore we’d never part.

Then little by little we drifted from each other’s heart.

At first I thought it was just restlessness
That would fade as time went by and our love grew deep.

In the end it was something more I guess

That tore us apart and made us weep

And I’m driving a stolen car
Down on Eldridge Avenue.

Each night I wait to get caught
But I never do.

She asked if I remembered the letters I wrote,
When our love was young and bold.

She said last night she read those letters
And they made her feel one hundred years old.

I’m driving a stolen car
On a pitch black night.

And I’m telling myself I’m gonna be alright.

But I ride by night and I travel in fear.

That in this darkness I will disappear.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This is my third installment in my “Springsteen And Noir” project – images influenced by songs or lyrics from Bruce Springsteen.

The first was Boardwalk Plans.

The second, Further On Up The Road

The song is Stolen Car is included on The River album. This album, released in 1980, saw Bruce and the band getting a way from the catchy tunes that Greetings From Asbury Park and the next albums produced. With The River, Bruce started to strip it all down, writing haunting words and lyrics that would progress into the Nebraska album a few years later..

Here, though, Springsteen is running through some common, plainative themes that would repeat for years to come.

Fear, darkness, lost love, restlessness

Theft (whether real or perceived or illustrative).

An alterate set of lyrics includes these:
But I ride by night and I travel in fear
No matter what I do or where I drive
Nobody ever sees me when I ride by

Stark themes and words indeed.

Just the stuff of noir.

Interesting, Stolen Car, as well as Drive By Night, another song from The River, featured prominently in the Sylvester Stallone movie, Cop Land. (Not your typical Sly Stallone movie. If you’ve never seen it, give it a shot.)

When I came upon the scene driving home from work the other night, seeing the lone automobile under the bright lights of the gas station, I had to shoot it. And this song immediately came to mind.

The setting alone spoke noir to me, and I have a feeling I’ll be back (the one good thing about the recent time change is that I’m seeing new opportunities in the darkness.)

Here’s a good live version of Springsteen doing Stolen Car in his mid-1980s heyday – cutoff flannel shirt, pumped up biceps and all.

Let me know what you think.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Friday Noir: Pitch Black Night

  1. Wonderful shot, as always. Mark makes you fall short of superlatives fast.
    Before knowing Mark, I had never thought about Springsteen as being “Noir”. I give myself as an excuse for that, that English is -obviously – not my mother tongue. Pitiful. I’m busy going through my far from exhaustive collection of Springsteen albums, listening to them with a completely different ear.
    Something else I have to be thankful to Mark for.

  2. Pingback: Friday Noir: Riches Squandered | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

