Friday Noir: The Quiet Goes On

(c) Mark Krajnak/JerseyStyle Photography ~ Stefan_Quiet_Goes_On

So we’ve come to the end of the road, have we?

Another year in the books? Almost, at least.

Another year older.

Another year wiser?

Yeah, we’ll see.

Auld Lang Syne and all that.

The quiet is falling.

Nothing much more to do but pour a drink.

Think back. Look forward.

The night closes us in.

The quiet envelopes us.

We wish for sweet dreams.

Sleep tight.

But keep the gat close. That’s what I always say.

For now, though, the quiet goes on.

Happy Noir Year.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Yes, my friends, we are almost at the end of another year.

Red light is on, tank is just about empty.

Hope you’ve enjoyed these little weekly sojourns down the Jersey Noir path. It’s always fun to create these episodes.

The image above is another fantastic creation from my friend in Paris, Stefan. Back in late November, I shot him an email to see if he could do a holiday-themed noir piece with one of my images. I liked the one he picked, and the scene he set is fantastic.

Look at the detail – the 1940’s era cars on the snowcovered street. The snow falling. The Triple A sign behind the mug standing under the streetlight. It was exactly what I was looking for, even if I didn’t know what I was looking for, exactly.

The one liberty I took to Stefan’s image – and I hope he doesn’t mind – is that I converted it to black & white. His was in a subdued color and it’s a fantastic artistic creation in it’s own right.

I just wanted, for this last noir episode of 2012, to go back to the original genre and make it B&W. So I used Nik Silver, and converted it to how I wanted it. Nik Silver often gives me excatly what I want when I head into the digital darkroom.

I can’t express enough how exciting it has been to be part of the partnership that arose in 2012 between myself, Stefan and author Bard Constantine.
It’s been great to work with these two creative minds. We have some good things planned in the future so stay tuned.

So, we’re done for this year. But I already have some new noir epidsodes ready to go for 2013.

Have no fear.

And sleep tight.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2012 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

4 thoughts on “Friday Noir: The Quiet Goes On

  1. Fantastic way to end the series for the year. The B&W conversion gives the piece a completely different look. I love both versions and think it’s one of Stefan’s best yet. The man is amazing with what he does with your images. It’s been a great year creatively, and I can’t wait to see what will come of this partnership going into a new year. Best wishes, Mark.

Leave a Reply

