JSP Visual Week In Review | 12.29.12

(c) Mark Krajnak / JerseyStyle Photography_WIR_122912

As Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye sang in White Christmas, Snow….snow….snoooooooowwwwwwwwwww….

We’re waiting on some snow due to arrive here in New Jersey today. Not in the amount of what my friends Stuart and Matthew had earlier this week, but some white stuff nonetheless should come.

It’s been that quiet week between Christmas and New Years. My job was closed for the week, but due to what I do, I still had some work to do. Otherwise, it’s been spending time wth family, referreeing yelling sessions between my kids, experimenting in the kitchen, and reviewing a lot of the images I shot this year.

It’s been quite a year.

One of my goals for 2013 is to find inspiration wherever I can – books, music, movies, other people’s (photographers and otherwise) blogs, conversations, even the mundane, ordinary life.

There is so much information out there now that we can take in, the other goal for me is to be dilligent about when I seek out this inspiration. I certainly don’t want to be on the internet 24 hours a day. No, also want to make sure nothing else suffers and everything else prospers. I’m sure there will be some rough patches, but in the long run, I think it can work.

What are some of your favorite places to find inspiration? Where do you recommend I look to fuel my creative pushes?

In a few days, we’ll turn the calendar pages (or change the calendar wallpaper on our computer desktops). You can start fresh at any time of the year, but January 1 is the historical benchmark. I read something recently about “making 2013 the best year ever.” I don’t know if I want to go that far, honestly. I intend to be alive for a long time and if I ever experience something that this that is the “best ever” what more do I have to look foward to then?

No, I’ll do the best I can and make some inroads. What more can I ask for?

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This Week’s Links:

* Luceo photographer Matt Slaby on Bearing Arms for 5280 Magazine.

* Interview with Sam Jones on Faded and Blurred.

* I gotta see this movie, Bernie. Have you?

* Season’s Greetings – Then and Now.

* The story behind the iconic Michael Jordan In Flight image.

* Damon Winters photographs Haiti for the New York Times.

* From Joseph E.B. Elliot, Oh Big Steel Town of Bethlehem.

* Via Time, Photographers we lost in 2012.

* “If I knew how to take a good photograph, I’d do it every time.”Robert Doisneau

Leave a Reply

