Charge!

JSP_Charge2bw_010213_3185

“Everyone has a plan until they get hit in the mouth.” ~ Mike Tyson

Or until 40 degree water splashes up in their face on a 40 degree New Jersey New Years Day!

For the fourth year in a row, I had the pleasure and toe-numbbing excitment to photograph the Sons of Ireland Polar Bear Plunge down in Asbury Park. It was the 10th Plunge that the SOI put on to raise money for charity.

JSP010113_SOIsign_2117

I’m still editing and processing the photos. And since the Sons of Ireland are my clients here, I want to give them the images before I share them here. But I thought it would be fun to share with you my POV – and what I saw (and shot!) right after the bagpiers finished with the National Anthem and the crowd of plungers charged into the cold water…and toward where I was standing about waist deep.

I’m sure they had a plan about what it would be like to hit the ocean. I know I had a plan.

I think, like Mike said, we all got hit in the mouth.

It was a fun shoot, as usual though. Once I get these images off to my clients, I’ll be happy to share them, and some more stories as well.

I’m sure my toes will be thawed out by then.

© Mark V. Krajnak 2013 | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

