Weekend Shot: Snappy PowerShootin’

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Hamilton barn_2013_2438

About a month ago, I lamented the demise of a little friend.

I had been carrying around the Canon S95 for most of 2012, and had really gotten to love it’s smallness, compactactability, but most of all it’s quality images.

The love affair ended last month with an unfortunate meeting between the niftly little S95 and the non-forgiving concrete floor of my garage.

I knew I wanted to get another little point-and-shoot. I especially like when I’m out with my kids and I don’t want to have the big 24-105 lens handing off my shoulder. Or for those days when I have a meeting in New York – you cannot not go into New York without a camera.

I thought about moving up the P-n-S ladder a little bit. But I just could justify a more than $300 cost for my #2 camera. It’s not that I wouldn’t want one – I just can’t justify it to myself, not with my kids thinking they live in an all-you-can-eat diner, summer camps season coming up and rising gas prices in New Jersey.

So, I started looking around for the replacement S95. In doing so, I noticed, though, that Canon has leaped a couple of levels now. We all know what it’s like to be stymied by too many choices. I didn’t know which way to go.

In the end, I went back to Amazon and purchased the Canon S100. Pretty much thes same at the S95, though there are some differences.

In any case, I have a new little sidekick, Snappy, to go on ride-alongs with me. And so, on Sunday morning, when me and the boys had to go pick up dog food, I left FiddyD at home. The air was brisk and there were some lovely clouds out. Runnin’ one of the country routes, I put Snappy to work using the titl-shift effect. Got some nice light on roof of that barn, some cool clouds over head.

Basically out of the box, the little guy did great. And the Big Brother Fiddy is happy to have a friend.

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_Powershot100

I just gotta keep him off the concrete.

New Canon S100 + cool clouds + country scene + Nik Silver = The Weekend Shot

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved 2013

Leave a Reply

