Friday Noir: Magic Of The Melancholy

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_SearchForSaturdayNight_032013

You gassed her up, now you’re behind the wheel
With your arm around your sweet one.
In your big ol’ soul cruiser
Barrelin’ down the boulevard.
You’re looking for the heart of Saturday night.

You got paid on Friday
Your pockets are jinglin’.
You see the lights
You get all tinglin’ ’cause you’re cruisin’ with a gal.
And you’re looking for the heart of Saturday night.

Then you comb your hair, shave your face
Tryin’ to wipe out ev’ry trace
All the other days In the week.
You know that this’ll be the Saturday
You’re reachin’ your peak.

Stoppin’ on the red
You’re goin’ on the green.
‘Cause tonight’ll be like nothin’
You’ve ever seen.
You’re barrelin’ down the boulevard
Lookin’ for the heart of Saturday night.

The crack of the poolballs…
The neon’s buzzin.
Is it the barmaid that’s smilin’ from the corner of her eye?
Magic of the melancholy tear in your eye.

And now you’re stumblin’
You’re stumblin’ onto the heart of Saturday night.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

A little different Friday Noir this week. I get a lot of help with my friends with this one.

OK, so, yes, that guy sparkin’ the Lucky Strike right there in the middle? That’s my piece of this beautiful pie.

But the rest of this dark yet energetic world is all the work of my friend in Paris, Stefan. To me his name may as well be Stefan Wow because whenever my email pings with one of his new creations, I open it up, sit back and say “Stefan. Wow.”

The scenes he creates, many which bring life to Bard Constantine’s written pages, are just fantastic. Stefan creates drama and energy and…stories. Stories without words but stories none the less.

This particular image could go many ways. Stefan sent it to me in color,and I love his version. It has a Edward Hopper-esque feel to it, without trying to be Hopper. Stefan’s piece certainly stands on its own as is. I like it so much, I’ve already decided I’m going to get a big color print made of it. However, for my Friday Noir purposes, I had to convert it to B&W, just to give it a slightly different tone, that dead-of-night, things still happening feel.

Then, rather than affixing one of my own tales to it, I let the Voice of Noir, singer/songwriter/actor Tom Waits do the storytelling here.

If noir had a vocal sound, it would be the voice of Tom Waits. His voice is like the noir I strive to shoot – gritty, raw, soaked in bourbon and cigarettes. Unmistakable.

I happened to hear this song by Waits soon after Stefan sent me this piece of art. The more I listened to it, the more the lyrics of the song, (Looking For) The Heart Of Saturday Night, fit this image.

In this composite work by Stefan, the mug lighting the Lucky, the car, the diner/restaurant with the lights ablaze, the person cleaning the floors inside there – they are all looking for something, even at this time of night. Could be that next party, that next job, that next city. Or perhaps just the next day. That’s the story this image is telling.

I couldn’t have shot it, or said, it better.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All rights Reserved 2013

3 thoughts on “Friday Noir: Magic Of The Melancholy

  1. What can I say, really?
    To see my own stuff associated to Mark and Bard’s work and, for good measure to Edward Hopper and Tom Waits’ too, is an honor and a privilege I’m not sure I deserve but that I truly appreciate, nonetheless.
    Melancholy is definitely the feel I intended to convey with this image.The original image has dark but intense, bright colors. Once it was done, it came up to my mind that such colors probably weren’t the best way to express melancholy, but I left it at that. Mark, turning it into B&W, really “re-interpretated” it and somehow got it back its “true” meaning, that special 5 a.m. feel, when it’s not yesterday anymore, but not tomorrow either yet and suddenly, for some reason or no reason at all, you don’t really know who you are and you’re not even sure you’re still somebody. Any city night owl knows what I’m talking about, this in between two days, two worlds, two lives, two persons feel.
    And yes, that’s how Mark and I do it: I turn his wonderful B&W shots into color scenes, he turns my own color images into N&B pictures and we go along nicely with it, both caugh in that same parallel world of ours, where B&W has lots of colors and colors are very Noir.

  2. I really love your dissection of these pieces, Mark. Art is much like poetry -wide open for interpretation, and it’s always a pleasure to get a different perspective on a piece of art. You and Stefan compliment each one another’s work so well. Like it was meant to be…

Leave a Reply

