Tearsheet: Thrilling Detective 15th Anniversary Cover

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_ThrilllingDetective_cover65_042013

I’m always excited to see how an art director or creative type might use one of my images. It’s certainly harder to layout a previously shot image – one not shot directly for your format – than to use something bespoke for your format.

I know this well enough in my 9-to-5 job – trying to shoehorn in images that look good but don’t fit a particular format never works. It denegrates the image itself, as well as the outcome.

In this case, Kevin Burton Smith, the editor of the ezine Thrilling Detective – as well as an experienced web and graphic designer – did a fine job with one of my noir images (one I titled There Is No Courage, Only Fear)

I’m not sure how Kevin and I connected – Twitter maybe – but he had a look at my noir portfolio and liked what he saw.

We started up a conversation and at one point, he said he’d like to use one of my images as the 15th Anniversary cover of Thrilling Detective.

Back in the original day, Thrilling Detective was an actual pulp magazine which published 231 issues between 1931 and 1953.

Burton’s Thrilling Detective keeps the noir and pulp tradition alive. Many great crime fiction and noir writers have graced the online pages of TD. If you’re into this type of writing, do check it out.

But using an image as Thrilling Detective cover is definitely different for Kevin. Take a gander at what he usually likes to use. These are classic, beautiful, pulp fiction covers.

So, to say I’m honored he broke a bit from tradition to use a bit of Jersey Noir, well, that’s an understatement.

And to also think that he feels my noir images rank up there enough to be considered with the likes of the great and cool pulp covers…well, I’m just tickled. Kevin gives a nice write-up about this cover here, and I thank him for that as well.

I’m really happy with this collaboration and happy to be a new member – albeit a new one – of the Thrilling Detective list contributors. I’m also hoping Kevin gets some great feedback on his anniversary issue and that we’ll continue this partnership.

Would love your feedback as well. Let me know what you think.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

2 thoughts on “Tearsheet: Thrilling Detective 15th Anniversary Cover

  1. Congrats on getting your mug plastered on the cover. Hopefully we’ll see more of your work getting the attention it deserves. Love how it turned out!

Leave a Reply

