Weekend Shot: Every Day is Earth Day

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_EarthDay2013_3058

What I normally see every Saturday.

My kids and I do our weekly commute to the recycling center. In our community, you don’t put it out in different colored buckets (green for paper, yellow for metal and glass…)

Here in Upper Freehold Township, we have to take our recylables to the recylcing center.

Throw the newspapers in one big tractor-trailer bin. Glass and plastic go in another.

Aside from the weekly “chore” that this superimposes, it’s not so bad. My kids like to go with me. Matty, the littlest, doesn’t get out but Olivia and Chase like the work aspect. I give them the big plastic Diet Coke bottles or milk jugs to throw into the bin. Liv usually does the newspaper and cardboard.

People get a laugh when they see them all enthusiastically helping out, pitching in.

Startin’ them young….I hear that a lot.

This morning, before I left for work, I said to Liv “Happy Earth Day!”

“Daaaaaaaaadddd,” she said in that six-year-old up-and-down, sing-songy voice pattern. “Every day is Earth Day!”

Starting them young, indeed.

Newspaper recycling bin + Canon S100 + Nik Color Efex Pro Tonal Contrast Filter = This Weekend Shot.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

Leave a Reply

