Tear Sheet: Spartan Negotiator Book Cover

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_Savage Press_SpartanNegotiator_FullCover

Back in February, I received an email from Michael Savage, publisher at Savage Press. He had come across one of my noir images and wanted to talk about using as part of the cover of a new book called Spartan Negotiator, written by John F. Saunders.

We sent some emails back and forth and he told me what he was looking for with for the cover. The main character is a muscular, tattooed badass. Mr. Savage thought my photo would fit well. However, he did say that they were also thinking about shooting a fresh image, possibly ususing someone already inked up. That’s a key detail to the tough-guy main character, Frank Kane.

In the end, though, they did end up using my image on the cover, which I was very happy about. When Mr. Savage sent me the proofs, I thought it looked great.

Here’s the original image that I shot. It’s not THE first in my portfolio of noir shots, but it’s pretty close. Maybe the second or third I shot in that portfolio.

(c)JerseyStylePhotography_FearRetribution900_6601

The image was inspired by a scene in The Godfather movie. Sonny and Michael Corleone with the rest of the “family” waiting to hear where the meeting with Sollozo will take place. Sonny is sitting there with his white tank-top t-shirt and suspenders and that image stuck with me. So, I wanted to incorporate that element.

I liked the natural light coming in the window that morning. The automatic in the back of the waistband, cocked, added to the whole scene for me. I always wished I had a bigger crucifix, though, for the wall.

I do like how Savage Press added the shoulder tattoo on the Kane character for the cover. In an email with the author, John tole me “I wanted more tats, to contrast with the noir quality and the modern love of tattoos. But it (the cover) still came out great.”

In any case, I’ve added Spartan Negotiator to my summer reading list now. Author Saunders is now in good company with James M. Cain, Mickey Spillane and Robert Penn Warren to keep me occupied over the course of the next few months.

You can pick up Spartan Negotiator right from the Savage Press website (link above) or at Barnes & Noble, Amazon and other fine booksellers.

Also check out the Spartan Negotiator Facebook page.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

2 thoughts on “Tear Sheet: Spartan Negotiator Book Cover

  1. Pingback: 2013 In The Rearview | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

