Weekend Shot: Oh The Drama

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_Route524_9826

My friend, Seattle-based fine art photographer Mark Olwick, recently said on his Facebook page “I hate cloudless days.”

I concur. While I don’t consider myself a landscape photographer, I do realize the value of some really cool clouds to set the scene. To that end, if I’m out and about, and see such clouds, I start too look for ways to make them the centerpiece of an image.

Saturday, coming home from running some errands with the youngest Kraj Kid, I saw these amazing cloud formations. It was about 11 a.m., so not really great from a lighting pespective. Sun was high and pretty unflattering. Still, I thought I could get an interesting shot of the swirls in the sky.

As I traveled home down Route 524 towards home, I knew this barn would be coming up. Sure enough, the clouds were in proper placement for me. The barn and trees give a bit of perspective, too.

A little dapple in Nik Silver and the image was done.

Yep, I hate cloudless skies too. Good for flying. Bad for photography.

Saturday morning +Canon 50D + Dramatic Clouds + Nik Silver = This Weekend Shot

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

Leave a Reply

