Dispatches: What’s The Story?

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_Brief Pause In Time_July 2013_MG_9293

Trains have this exotic way about them. Airplanes used to be exotic travel methods too….then people started to feel that Juicy Couture sweatpants, flip-flops and loutish behavior was accceptable. Airplanes now are just cattle calls in the sky.

But I digress.

Maybe because I never really experienced them is the reason I find train travel sexy. There’s something about seeing those big wheel curning to a stop, putting your foot on that metal step and using the hand-worn rail to pull youself up and into the train car. It’s like going back in time in present day.

Which brings me to the photos in this post. Usually, I’m pretty good about crafting a story around a photo I shot. There’s one often percolating in my brain. But these two – the one that leads off this blog and the one below – have me just stumped.

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_First Train Ride_July 2013_9326

I mean, I know the actual story about them – the how, why and when I shot them….but I think they are really good examples about how images can be the launching pad for storytelling in general, especially fiction stories. We often pick up a book to check out because the cover catches our eye. I’m convinced that if you were to see either of these photos on the cover of a book, with a half-way interesting title, you’d pick it up to see what it was about, no?

So….what’s the story with these two train images? Leave it in the comments below or send me an email at jerseystylephotography@gmail.com. I’ve love to get some ideas on these.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

Leave a Reply

