Dispatches: Land. Marks.

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_Newark_102013

If you read last Saturday’s post, you know I was traveling for much of last week. Like Indiana Jones, I hunt for visual artifacts when I travel.

What you find when you visit an ear, nose & throat doctor's office.

What you find when you visit an ear, nose & throat doctor’s office.

I was off to the bedroom suburbia of Sylvan Lake, Michigan. Not quite the super interesting destination of where this guy or this gal are bootstrapping around too. Still, every place has a personality, and will lend itself to my memory.

Established in 1947 Sylvan Lakes is a little community right on a lake. Main features are very-post WWII squat brick homes, the one-level kind even the Big Bad Wolf couldn’t blow over. Pretty quaint, pretty pretty actually. Many of the homes were done up Halloween-style, fitting with the season.

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_Sylvan Lakes House_102013_4370

Our photo and video subject, the reason for our trip there, made quite an impression on me as well. Until the story gets produced, and is “out there”, I have to hold off. But in a couple of months, I hope to be able to tell you more about him, and the reason for being there.

First stop was a pretty non-descript doctor’s office. Our goal was to interview the doctor (with me playing interviewer) who performed a particular procedure, shoot some general doctor/patient b-roll with with our main subject, and for me to back that up with shooting stills too. With limited options, our first and main challenge was making this doctor’s office pretty enough for the interview.

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_JT_102013_4180

Here’s what the set-up scene looked like. John, my camera guy, directing his Canon 5d Mark II and 70-200mm lens to our space. My circular reflector got some usage…as did John’s simple Chinese lantern lighting, which is just outside this frame, on the left. That’s a great trick he said many cinematographers use. It produces soft light and packs really small too. Since it was just the two of us wearing many different hats throughout, we dubbed the mission “Small Footprint Productions.”

For two days, we traveled up and down Orchard Lake Road, just off the highway and and pretty nondescript itself. Lots of restaurants and stores that you find in the commercial zone of any area (Red Lobster, Macaroni Grill, Best Buy, Target, etc.). Visual dampening, if you know what I mean. Still, by keeping my eyes open, an the camera near me, I caught a pretty interesting local visual landmark…

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_George Mitchell_102013_4525

Wheels were up again on Friday morning and through the clouds we found ourselves. I finished reading The Flight From Dallas, a really interesting Esquire piece from Chris Jones. I also read through the latest issue of TASCHEN magazine (link is over there on the right) and started a piece in Vanity Fair about Jay Z.

Eclectic reading, indeed. A bit like my photography on this trip. We landed in EWR, John and I made our split – he for the rental lot, me for the train. By the time I made it back to New Brunswick, the day was getting late and the light was getting pretty.

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_New Brunswick2_4722

Just before descending from the platform…there was a sign…this trip, at least, had come to an end.

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_End Platform_BW_102013_4729

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

One thought on “Dispatches: Land. Marks.

  1. Pingback: Tearsheet: New Corporate Work | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

