First Snow

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_First Snow_bw_111213_5916

And so, Winter of my 43rd year began today. Big, fat, wet flakes feel from the sky this morning, contrasting sharply – and nicely – with the red, orange and yellow glow from the still-hanging on Autumn.

I pulled off on the way to work to document.

It won’t last long. Ground is still to warm. Still, my kids were happy to see it.

I don’t know why winter catches me by surprised; it happens every year. And even though I do complain about it, weather does make things interesting. Having living in the constant temperature of San Francisco for a year, I know I rather the bemused activity of the heavens.

Even if I don’t enjoy the falling temperatures. I miss those heatwaves from June and July already. I guess it’s time to unpack my Winterscape Gallery Series and being anew.

Oh, here’s the color version of the shot above.

I couldn’t decide which one liked more. Which do you?

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

3 thoughts on “First Snow

  1. Colour. Definitely the colour version. The subtly of the transition of the seasons is not evident in the black and white and it feels more like winter has come to stay. The caveat is that I am very biased to colour these days 🙂

  2. I initially like the B+W more but after looking at the color version a bit I have to say I like that even more!
    I’m not much for the cold weather either…..lack of color during the winter sucks too!

Leave a Reply

