Dispatches: Street Savy NY

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_443 Greenwich_NYC_112013_5951

Late last week, I was in New York City for the day. Little bit of work, little bit of play.

Had to get in early to catch the train to take me to Penn Station. From there, I hopped on the 1 Train down to Chambers Street. Had a meeting with one of those cool, hip, Tribeca-based design agencies. Luckily, I didn’t wear my three-piece suit and pocket square. This wasn’t the time to be all Mad Men-esque.

The morning air was cold, the light was spectacular. Darting, slicing and drifting through the canyons of the island. Leicausor, the God of Photography (think that’s his name), was looking down on me at times. I got some good looks walking around the neighborhood before heading into my meeting.

After my meeting, the air had warmed up. It was about 12:30 p.m. Rather than take a cab, I wanted to make the 20-odd block up Broadway to where I was meeting some friends for a late lunch.

The light turned a little harsh and a bit flat, but anytime in New York City with a camera is a good time. Especially if you’re interested in street photography.

By 2 p.m., after my stroll, I reached Maysville, in the shadow of the Flatiron Building. I was meeting up with a couple of friends from Doyle Partners for lunch. I’ve traveled the world – literally – with Stephen Doyle, had a lot of adventures with him. I hadn’t seem him all year, so was good to catch up with him (and my other Doyle Partners friend, Staci. Wonderful person and creative designer.)

Stephen, Tokyo

Stephen, Tokyo

After lunch, back onto the savy streets of New York for another long stroll. This time back down to the Financial District. By time I arrived there, the light had faded to dark. Dinner with another friend, a subway ride back to Penn Station and back to Jersey I came.

Here’s a short multimedia show of the day. If you don’t see the video player in your browser, click here to watch on YouTube.

Take it away, Lou…

A beautiful autumn day in New York City.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

One thought on “Dispatches: Street Savy NY

Leave a Reply

