JSP Visual Week In Review | 11.30.13

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_WIR_113013

Black this, Cyber that.

Buy! Sell! Steal!

Ugh.

Yes, I ate turkey three times yesterday (turkey hash for breakfast, turkey salad for lunch, leftover warm turkey for dinner). Not a problem for one day, but we still have a lot of leftovers. Not complaining too loudly, though.

The last seven days were good ones for me. I finally started the new job with the new company and the new boss. The only thing I’m not liking so far is the over-the-river-and-through-the-woods one hour (and sometimes plus change) commute. But that will probably shorten once I get on-boarded and I can work out of a closer office. The change of scenery and pace will be good for me, I think.

But it was a short week due to the holiday. In fact, every week from here till the end of the year will be truncated some how, some way, I think. The 2013 door is rapidly closing. Have you done what you came here to do yet? If not, the scoreboard time is running down so you better get after it. No time like the present, New Year’s Resolutions can start at any time.

One of the best things I did this week – well two things really – was to go for a trail run the morning of Thanksgiving. It was sunny and cold. There were some icy puddles and flat light. No music in my ears, just the sound of the breeze through the trees and my Adidas-clad footfalls on the trails. That’s my church. Be out there, think, run, contemplate, exercise, think some more. Smell the leaves.

The second thing was taking my kids, later on that same Thanksgiving morning, to Walnford. Again, out in the cold, in nature with my tribe. Shooting some photos, wiping runny noses, watching them have fun.

And yesterday, instead of being out in all that crappy commercial madness, I was happy to home with my boys (my wife and little girl were out for most of the day), watching some movies, doing some yard work. Didn’t have to turn the key in my truck all day.

It was nice to be home.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This Week’s Links:

* Top 75 images of 2013 (so far)

* These are incredible: Rod Penner: Miniature paintings pay homage to small-town life.

* New Book: Jerod Foster on Seeing And Shooting Great Color.

* An incredible read: Tracking down Lewis Hines’ child laborers.

* Via New Yorker mag: Giving Thanks For Photography

* Maltese Falcon sells for $4 million.

* “I spent a great deal of my life being ignored I was always very happy that way. Being ignored is a great privilege.” ~ Saul Leiter

One thought on “JSP Visual Week In Review | 11.30.13

Leave a Reply

