Weekend Shot: On Duty

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_PA TRNPK worker_122013_7743

We’re kinda smack-dab in the middle of the last sigh of 2013. Some of us are working today; others are still tucked in at home (blissfully, or waiting for the kid bombs to go off.)

Late last week, I was to road trip to my hometown in Northeast Pennsylvania on Thursday morning with my kids. However, winter weather up that way kept us home here in NJ on Thursday, the day we were to go. We delayed for 24 hours, and started off on Friday morning.

Route was one I’ve driven many times: Local roads to NJ Turnpike. NJ Turnpike, over the big bridge in Pennsylvania. Keep heading west till you hit the Northeast Extension, then hang the big sweeping right turn. Keep going northeast in Pennsylvania.

Some slow going due to construction helped me grab this shot. You may remember, one of my major personal projects for 2013 was my Working On The Highway deal.

The project captures the men and women out there in all kinds of weather, nearly every day. The road crews.

And while it’s been shot 99.9% of the time on the NJ Turnpike, I couldn’t let this opportunity pass.

Really like this one. Shot with my little used Canon 17-85mm lens.

A couple of years ago, when I was in Cork, Ireland, on business, this lens bonked on me. I got it fixed, but decided also to pick up the 24-105mm. I hardly ever use the 17-85, now but pulled it out again.

And I really enjoyed the lens again. I’ll use it later this week at the Polar Bear Plunge in Asbury Park, I think, too.

Getting back to my Working On The Highway project, nearly all are in B&W. Kept this one in color because I like the clouds, the sky, the vest. But here’s the B&W version.

Let me know which on you like better.

And enjoy the last couple of days of 2013…

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2013

2 thoughts on “Weekend Shot: On Duty

  1. The color version is better for this scene. The color is needed to help show how tight the orange vest is on the construction worker dressed in layers to attempt to keep out the cold. The B&W image just doen not show that as well.

    • Interesting reaction and perspective, David. Love it. I hadn’t really thought of it that way. Interestingly, we often hear how going B&W brings detail in, as color creates “noise.” Your reaction is opposite that – the color version brings out a detail that tells more the story. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

