Friday Noir: Black Ice

(c)Jersey StylePhotography_Stefan_Happy Noir Year_010314

Made it through to the other side, did you?

We turned the corner to nowhere. Flipped the page.

Eyelids like sandpaper, mouth like a it’s full of sawdust.

You hear those chain’s a rattlin’?

Yeah, they’re there to bring you over to the other side.

Have you done what you wanted to do?

Have you made your mark?

Or has this burned and black earth smeared you?

Pull out the pistols, stare it all down.

Rattle those chains and back again.

This is a land of darkness and trouble.

Your luck becomes your wisdom.

And sometimes it’s better to be lucky than wise.

Time to fire up that big engine on the old Ford,

And put that rubber to the road.

Just don’t spin out on the black ice.

Auld Lange Syne and all that.

Get it done.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Man In The Fedora, up in the lights, so to speak. The fantastic image above is courtesy of Stefan, or Stefan The Great as I call him. My partner in noir images from the City of Light, Paris.

I reached out to Stefan back in December and asked if he may have some time to help me craft a noir image to help me cap 2013. He perused some of my images and sent me this. I loved the concept immediately. Certainly not what I expected but then, that’s why I go to Stefan. We went back and forth on the text a little and finally settled on this final piece.

Thank you, Stefan! Superb, as usual!

It’s been sitting on my hard drive for a few weeks, but I thought I’d run it today to cap my Christmas Noir postings, and as a way to shoo out 2013 (where I posted 49 new Friday Noir images – guess I missed a couple of weeks) and usher in ‘OneFour.

Frankly, that’s a lot of original images, a lot of original writing. And while I love to create these visual story lines, and the text to accompany them, I’m afraid they are in danger of being diluted.

Don’t worry, I’ll still be posting new noir images and stories in 2014. However, I don’t think Friday Noir will be such a regular occurrence, at least in the near term.

I’m constantly inspired by books, films and music, and that helps me craft these little slices of bitter little words. I still have quite a few images in my vault to share at some point, even shot some late last week.

So, have no fear, if you like this genre of mine, you’ll still get your dose of it. Just may not be as regular.

And who knows…maybe I’ll miss it and I’ll pick the weekly series up again.

I hope everyone has a happy and healthy 2014. If you have those two things – your happiness and your health – then all the other stuff will fall into place, I think.

The photographic journey continues…stay with me.

PS: Thanks to everyone that has ordered one of my 2014 Calendars! I very much appreciate all your support for that little endeavor. If you got yours, I hope you like it. If you’re still waiting, it’s on the way!

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

One thought on “Friday Noir: Black Ice

  1. I’ll definitely miss Friday Noir on the regular, but I understand how things get after you’ve been on the same theme for a while. That’s one of the main reasons I had to take a break from the Troubleshooter last year and work on something completely unrelated. Now I’m back in a noir state of mind and Mick Trubble will definitely be back for 2014. Love this piece, always great to see you two collab!

Leave a Reply

