Print More In ‘OneFour

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_PrintMoreInOneFour_011714

I’m not really one for New Year’s Resolutions. Hey, at this point in my time, what you see is what you get. In fact, I’ve probably made better internal and external changes to myself when I started them whenever it wasn’t January 1.

However, this year, I did make a silent pledge to myself: Print more photos in 2014

I’m tired of having all these images here, or on Zenfolio, or Flickr, or on a hard drive or smart phone.

I want to be able to look up and see them. To sift through them. To date them on the back with names and ages. To put them in to one of those books where the cellophane paper doesn’t quite lay right when you put it back down and you have to pick the corner up and do it again so that there are no bubbles. I want to pull a book off the shelf and flip pages.

I know a lot of do “year end” books and that’s great. What I’m talking about though is just printing off the something a little every week, either new work or old work that’s been sitting, silent and dark, on a hard drive. And you don’t have to use one of those big fancy online printing places – though you could if you want. These aren’t mean to be gallery-grade prints.

Go buy a pack of 4×6 photo sheets. Then, once a week, head into your office, den, basement. Fire up your All-In-One Printer/Scanner/Fax machine and print. It’ll take 5 minute to 24 hours, depending on how much you want to print.

Once printed, lay them out on the floor. Look at then. Put them in a stack. Shuffle them. Look at them. Smile a little bit. Hand them off to your wife, husband, oldest kid, youngest kid, aunt, grandmother, barber, local priest/reverend/minister/shamen, Shi Tzu/Corgi/Beagle/Mutt.

Have them flip through them. Watch their faces.

A smile will be cracked, a light in the eye will happen.

Guaranteed.

No squinting because it’s on a small touch screen.

Nobody saying “Wait, go back…”.

No gosh-durn incessant swipe-swipe-swiping.

Prints, in natural light, on paper, looking pretty cool.

Want to post it? Get a magnet and a refrigerator door.

Or tape and wall.

Sure, you can make those special books. I love doing them. Easy, not to terribly expensive, look great. But I’m downshifting even further here. I’m just saying, at the base level, print.

You know who’s great at doing this? My mom, who will be 73 75 next week. [Ed note: My mom, ever my editor, emailed me to tell me I had her age wrong. Now I have to make that bouquet of flowers extra big. Sorry Mom!] Every time I email her pics of the grandkids, she will send a reply back saying “Thanks! Already printed them out!”

My mom – Print Movement Activist.

When I was back home over the Christmas holidays, I was flipping through photo albums from 1972. All those cool photos on our phones and hard drives today – where will they be in 41 years? Think Facebook will be around in 41 years?

Last night, I watched a vacation DVD that my sister-in-law put together. It was from this past summer, when her family and my family went to Lake George, NY, for the week. It was cool, sweet, fun. I wasn’t here and hadn’t seen what they came home talking about. So it was neat to see the fun the kids had.

All I could think, though, was Make prints. Go to the local CVS, Wal-Mart, Target, local photo shop, back-alley, underground print guy.

Where you need to go to get those pixels on paper.

Make’em big, make ’em smaller like I am.

Just print more in ’14.

C’mon join my movement!

Spring those images from their electronic cages!

Print More In One Four! (On Twitter: #PrintMoreInOneFour)

Who’s with me?

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

One thought on “Print More In ‘OneFour

Leave a Reply

