Weekend Shot: Beyond The Pines

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Beyond The Trees_011814_0532

It’s pretty wonderful how amazing our brains are.

Driving to drop off the recycling on Saturday morning, I passed this cemetery. I’ve done so before, it’s not a new route.

Yes, in the split second that I looked over this time, I saw this image in my head.

No, really. THIS image. I saw it in this tone and coloring. I saw it at this distance and crop. All I had to do was make the image.

So, I dropped off the recycling and on the way back, pulled into the cemetery. It’s a old one in Cream Ridge, a big U connects the entrance to the exit.

I put the truck in park, left the door open. Bruce was singing about how Frankie Fell In Love.

I walked over to where I wanted to be, pulled out my little Canon S110 and took a few snaps.

Came home, ate lunch, popped this into my computer. Open it up in Photoshop> Nik Collection> Analog Efex Pro Wet Plate filter.

A little this and that and I was done. Maybe a four-minute post process.

And I had a favorite shot from the weekend.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

2 thoughts on “Weekend Shot: Beyond The Pines

  1. Sometime we see an image that we know is ‘right’. A quick shot and a little processing and we have a representation of the image we ‘saw’ to share with others. Why do we see that image? I don’t know. Perhaps it is the contrasts or unanswered questions. Maybe it soothes or to challenges our status quo. Whatever it is, it results in some wonderful images like your’s. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

