A New Winterscape

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Winterscape Gallery Series 2014_0647

It’s been so cold for so long now here in New Jersey, I’m actually getting used to it. The sun shines bright some days, the cars are all a new color which I call “Rocksalt White”.

A few years ago, when I wasn’t as one with winter, I started a personal project called the Winterscape Gallery Series. It was a way to motivate me to keep shooting no matter the weather.

Now, though, I don’t need the motivation. To paraphrase Sam Abell, it’s the shooting life.

I see things, I shoot, I document.

But I like this little personal project of mine and thought I’d add to it before work today.

I shot the above on the Pennsylvania side of the Delaware River. Just up a ways is where Washington led the boats across to attack the British.

Now, the Delaware River is so clogged with big jagged hunks of ice, George and the boys could have tiptoed across. It’s like the river froze flat, but kept lurching forward, smashing, colliding itself into icy fragments. The river looks like a moonscape now.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_River floats_2014_0638

It was a bright and clear 10 degree morning as I grabbed a few shots. It was serene and quite beautiful. Like my fellow New Jersey photographer, Mike Attanasio, I too long for a warm summer morning.

But till then, I’ll keep at what’s in front of me.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Winter Morning2_2014_0643

It’s what I do.

(Click here to view a slideshow of the whole Winterscape Gallery Series)

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

2 thoughts on “A New Winterscape

  1. Let me just say I really love how that last shot puts this whole “winter thing in perspective”. Too much all ready….. February is a short month, that’s what I keep thinking:) Thanks for the shoutout!

Leave a Reply

