JSP Visual Week In Review | 03.08.14

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_WIR_030814

Rentry.

After being away for nearly three straight weeks (one week in Jersey City back in early March, and the two weeks in South Africa) it was reentry time for me.

Reentry back into the family swing of things.

Reentry back into the work like.

Getting back to the family swing happened quickly. If you remember, I landed in from South Africa last Friday afternoon, late. Was up at 3:30 a.m. Saturday morning. Laid in bed till almost four, then just decided to get it going.

A couple of cups of coffee later, my youngest, Matt, was calling for me. Walked into his room. Smelled like vomit.

Sure enough, it was. Stomach bug. What a way to start the weekend.

He overcame that within 24 hours. Then, Sunday night into Monday, I’m still wrestling with time zones. Get up at 4 for a drink of water and to see if the predicted snow had come.

No snow. But a little girl, my oldest, who’s tummy was upset, meets me in the dark hallway.

The virus made the rounds this week, though it missed me and my wife. Thankfully.

Rest of the week was trying to get back on schedule. At work, at home.

And shooting pitifully nothing. It’s always that way when I return from a trip. I struggle to find the photos again. After such a visual buffet, I’m back to the grind, trying to find it.

I spent much of the week trying to make bad photos look good. That’s NOT good.

Like a jump shooter in basketball that is clanking everything, I just had to keep shooting through it. Shot a lot mess this week. Started to get back in the eye groove later on Friday, but we’re not there yet.

But it was a whole lot of nothing this week.

Anyone else get in these ruts? Let’s see where we go from here.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

This Week’s Links:

* One From The Archives: A Walk Along Nanchang Road (April 25, 2012)

* From Gary S. Chapman, a great photo essay and story: I Have Never Lost A Baby.

* My stretch goal for 2014.

* Good read on the Wonderful Machine blog about the value of personal work.

* Trevor Paglen asks…Is photography over?

* In Rolling Stone: Behind the photos with rock photographer (and New Jersey guy) Danny Clinch.

* From the NY Times Lens blog: Mississippi in the 1970s.

* I’m a big Austin Kleon fan, but was a bit underwhelmed by his SXSW keynote speech yesterday. Anyone else have any thoughts?

* Read all about it: In 1944, Casablanca won Best Picture.

* Four great travel cameras.

* “Life’s barely long enough to get good at one thing.” ~ Rust Cohle (Matthew McConaughey character on HBO’s True Detective.)

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

Leave a Reply

