The Fixer

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_Wesley Davis Portrait_022014_3027

Often times, a successful shoot or production depends on your “fixer” – that’s the person that makes it happen, especially when you’re outside the US.

They get you where you need to be,they help you change money, they translate for you, they steer you away from trouble, they point you to the good restaurants, they make sure you get from Point A to Point B with the least amount of hassle.

When I was in Cape Town recently, Wesley was our fixer. He was our driver, our shadow for our two weeks on the ground there. He knew how to get us someplace that we had to scout, he knew where to get us coffee, he knew how to get us a reservation, he knew were to me find me a Holmes Brothers store so I could get a t-shirt.

On my last night in town, just before heading to the airport, he showed us a kinda secret spot to take in an absolutely gorgeous sunset. He’s in his usual uniform, but while dressed down, he was always professional.

I like this portrait I made of Wes that last evening we were in town.

He’s also a really good shooter in his own right, and was up to the task of helping me recreate a shot that Jo Lopez recently did when Bruce Springsteen was in Cape Town.

(c)JerseyStyle_Photography_Jersey Guys_Cape Town

(Personally, I think I look more comfortable standing on the jetty than Bruce does, but then again, he’s The Boss. I’m not one to argue.)

Wes was the perfect fixer for this trip. And much of our success as due to all the work he put in to help us out.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

Leave a Reply

