Friday Noir: A Terrible Notion Of Duty

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Resistance Fighter_MG_1070

Well, yes, the plane did take off.

That plane... yes, well, it wasn’t in the air long.

And yes, Rick and Captain Renault were indeed friends.

But, again, not for so long. See, I had a job to do.

We all did.

The war was on, you know. We all had a terrible notion of duty.

I was the ghost in the machine. The burr under the saddle, if you will.

We all had to do our part.

Truth be told, all these years later…I was working with Major Strasser.

Well, more than working with Heiny, if you will.

I’m a lady, so I’ll demure. I was sad to see him shot.

But we all had a job to do.

The Resistance had to be taken down.

I was young enough then to have the courage to do so.

And naive enough not to know better.

Back then, we all knew how to set an explosive charge.

It was like tying our shoes.

My job was to take out Victor Laszlo.

Rick did me a favor. He got them on that plane. That’s what I had hoped he’d do.

Proud? No, I wouldn’t say that. But at the time, it was my job.

After, it was lovely being alone with Rick.

I hated Ilsa for showing up, but in the end, it worked out for us.

Of course, Rick, poor man, too, had to be excised.

The poison on my hatpin did that work.

Such was the time back then.

I still think about it sometimes.

Doing what had to be done. Our duty…

A kiss is but a kiss indeed.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

2 thoughts on “Friday Noir: A Terrible Notion Of Duty

    • Thanks, Bard! Glad you enjoyed my departure from the normal Rick and Ilsa story. Care to write the full presentation? 😉

Leave a Reply

