Little Fingers And Lucky 7’s

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Sept 2008

A pretty big day here in the Krajnak household today.

The literal embodiment of the smile on my face, my little girl Olivia, turns 7 today.

Seven. 7. Wow. SHM as the kids nowadays say (SMH = Shake My Head).

When Olivia was born back in 2007, we were like typical new parents, running around taking photos of everything she did.

But one of the things I did consciously start – as a happy accident though – was a project I call the Little Fingers Gallery Series.

Back in 2008, when Liv was just over a year old, I had been trying to shoot a still life of grapes on a plate.

Meh. Pretty boring as I look back at that exercise.

But while I was doing so, I saw this little pudgy hand creep into the frame to steal a grape.

It was like a light bulb went off: First, the inclusion of the hand made the image instantly more interesting to me and second, hey, this could be a new project for me to pursue!

So I did , and the Little Fingers Gallery Series was born.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Spring_2009

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_June 2009

In 2010, withe project going strong, another little finger joined the mix, Chase’s….

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Chase 2010

But primarily, this was a project with me and my little girl. Struggling with a shoe strap, picking up a balloon, a worm, a burger, or a mudpie. This was our little connection point, even if she didn’t know all the time when I was shooting these.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_2011

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Spring_2011

As Olivia has gotten older, I’ve shot less and less of her little fingers. I shot a couple in 2013 but the occurrences are getting less and less.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_January 011213

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_March 2013

As I watch her grow up before my eyes, with her sporty cut blonde hair, pearl white teeth and blue green eyes that alternately show joy, sadness or anger, those fingers now love to grasp a pencil or pen to write a story or draw a photo.

In all, I’ve shot included about 28 images in the Little Fingers Gallery Series. I can remember where each one was shot. Most were “in the moment”. Every now and then, if she was picking up a seashell in Asbury Park or a wholly caterpillar in the back yard, I may have asked her to do it again so I could get that shot.

But I think it’s time to now end this project. Time to retire it.

One of my ultimate thrills of my life has been watching Olivia grow up these past seven years. I haven’t done the same type of project for the boys; I don’t know why. But I’m documenting them in different ways.

Little Fingers is my connection to my little Jersey girl. I’ll always be keeping a eye out for her and on her.

Today is her special day. I promised her chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast. She’ll have a friend over after school and we’ll do the full celebration with another special friend on Saturday.

This is her day. You only turn seven once.

Here’s a link to the full gallery series.

Happy Birthday, Olivia!

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

2 thoughts on “Little Fingers And Lucky 7’s

Leave a Reply

