Checking On Two Davids

In my day job, I’ve been fortunate to work with many wonderful photographers over the years. As such, we often keep in touch after jobs and I keep an eye of them when I notice they com up in every day media.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_DBurnett_CJR_800_0514

Late last week, I came across this piece in the Columbia Journalism Review by David Burnett. In it, David takes us back to the images he shot for TIME magazine of a young (then 24( Monica Lewinsky, and how they served to introduce her to the world.

Great line by David: I’d been advised to bring just one camera, no flash, and be very low key. Well, of course, as a professional I brought what I needed: two cameras and one flash.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_David Burnett_2013_1024

David and his charming wife, Iris, keep a very sweet blog, We’re Just Sayin‘. Here’s his more informal recollection of that shot over on that space.

David and I last worked together in April 2013, on my birthday no less. He took a shot of me holding one of his Leica’s to my eye. I snapped a nice portrait of him with my Canon S100 and some beautiful window light. Just this week, he sent me a video the made for this 50th class reunion, a rundown of MANY of the photos he’s shot over the years. What an outstanding recollection.

Another photographer whom I worked with a couple of years ago is Minneapolis-based shooter, David Bowman. Unlike David and Iris, keeps a very minimalistic blog, Acqua City – an image, maybe a few words.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_DBowman_2009

Chicago 2009 was the last time David and I worked together, but we became fast friends during those few days. We still keep in touch via email, electronically chatting about what’s going on, what we’re working on, the family.

The other day, I got a email from him mentioning how three of his images are up for auction at Christie’s.

The images are part of a grouping called Limitless: Iconic Photographs from National Geographic Editor’s Choice

banner-half

A number of great photographers are included in this auction, and three of David’s images were selected.

Since I love shooting the carnivals that pop up in New Jersey in the summer, I’m always intrigued by his long exposure, medium format pics of the Minnesota State Fair.

(c)JerseyStyle Photography_Bowman_backyard_bw_2009_3833

That said, the lasting image of working with David (aside from him, out of no where starting our first-night dinner conversation with “So, when I was traipsing across the Australian outback on a camel holding a jug of wine….”) was him tucked in front of, or behind his huge octabank. He loves him some big soft light.

Always nice to see old friends doing well.

© Mark V. Krajnak | JerseyStyle Photography | All Rights Reserved 2014

One thought on “Checking On Two Davids

  1. Pingback: JSP Visual Week In Review 09 | 12 | 15 | JerseyStyle Photography

Leave a Reply

